It’s Almost Here!

I spent today finishing packing and running some last minute errands in preparation of my trip to Argentina, which I leave for on Saturday! Dan was able to get tomorrow off from work so I wanted to make sure that I didn’t have to spend it packing.

So far I’m actually not feeling very anxious, although once in awhile the realization that I’m going to have to speak Spanish, like, I will really have to speak Spanish makes me feel like this:2q809r8jpg1I’ll be having imaginary conversations in my head in Spanish and think “Oh my god, I don’t know the word for stamps! What will happen when I need to buy stamps?!” Then I realize that I can just describe what I need or look it up (stamps is sellos, btw) and that everything is going to be okay.

Speaking of looking things up, I am flying a Brazilian airline and have a layover in São Paulo, so I looked up some travel Portuguese and printed out a little list because even though I’m sure they’ll speak English on the flight, seeing as how we’re flying out of New York, I don’t want to be that ‘Murican who has no awareness of other cultures. Plus I think the stewardesses appreciated my lousy attempts at German on our way back from Austria two summers ago, so I figured I’d go for it again.

Well, I’m off to make dinner and run one last errand (I can’t find my bathing suit top so I have to go get another one since I’m leaving this freezing winter behind!) before snuggling up with Dan until I have to leave on Saturday. It’s going to be a hard five months away from him, but I’m sure I’ll find plenty of things to do to distract me!

I have launched another blog to document my trip, and if you’re interested you can follow along here:

http://aniowanabroad.wordpress.com 

My goal is to update about once a week with lots of pictures and stories about what I’m doing, as well as my general experience with culture shock and other things like that.

¡Hasta luego!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

