Weekly Roundup

Howdy! Wow, this was a rough week! I haven’t gotten enough sleep, and probably because of that I got struck down with a terrible headache during my first class yesterday and had to miss my second and third classes. Today I have to go back to the dentist because my appointment last week was just a general exam to see what was going on with my tooth. Today I’ll be getting a cleaning and then we’re going to discuss what to do because my baby tooth is hopeless but my mouth and jaw are really small so apparently it’s going to be challenging to fix. But let’s not think about such unpleasant things and get on to the weekly roundup instead!

I haven’t cooked much this week because we switched our naughty night to Tuesday this week because we had to grocery shop and there was no time for cooking (we sold our old car and got a new one over the weekend [!!!] and had to wait until the DMV opened on Tuesday to register it so we could drive!) and Wednesday night in a famished daze I accidentally had too big a snack when I got home from class and wasn’t hungry for dinner. The two meals I cooked were awesome, though!

Veggie fried rice from Eating Well: This was so good and easy to make. I added diced carrots and peas. I didn’t measure anything, I just eyeballed everything and wound up with 4 gigantic servings. I reheated it the next night by frying it again and it was even better!
Cozy Millet Bowl with Mushroom Gravy and Kale from Oh She Glows: I made this for dinner last night and it was SO GOOD. Even better than I expected. I made some substitutions based on what I had in my kitchen: I used brown rice instead of millet, parmesan cheese instead of nutritional yeast, and spinach instead of kale. I also used a mix of crimini and baby bella mushrooms. It was very filling and satisfying; the mushrooms tasted so meaty. I actually thought mushrooms were meat when I was a kid, and I can totally understand my own confusion :). I will make this mushroom gravy for other things in the future for sure, like mashed potatoes.

I’d better get back to work! I am so excited for Thanksgiving break but also stressed because I have quite a bit of work due right when I get back, and I really need to get started on my final papers because the semester will be over before I know it. I have a super awesome break planned between seeing family and friends and a wedding on Saturday, so I need to get everything done before break so that I can just relax and enjoy myself.

Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

