Argentina Anxiety

Well, I guess it’s winter! I had to walk home tonight at 6pm (I am shaking my fist at daylight savings time because now I have to walk home three times a week in the dark) and it is snowing like crazy! Call me crazy, but I am actually excited about the snow!

Before I dive into tonight’s topic, I just want to give a little update on how my exercise is going so far. I mentioned in my last post that I was going to reluctantly start waking up an hour early to exercise before my 8am classes three times a week, which I did yesterday and today. Shockingly it was not hard at all! I thank the same daylight savings time that is making my walk home dark. It wasn’t hard to wake up either morning and I was surprised to find that I really didn’t mind exercising at that time. Maybe it’s because I’m still half asleep? I think morning exercising is the best because it definitely gives me energy to get through my day (I noticed I was yawning less even though I didn’t get as much sleep as I should have either night) and for me it’s always good to be awake for a good long while before I have to interact with anyone. I’m a morning (slash elderly?) person in that I prefer going to bed earlier and waking up earlier, but I am GRUMPY when I wake up.

Now on to what I want to talk about: anxiety! I am preparing to study abroad next semester, and it is really overwhelming. The biggest problem is that I have 20 credits left and I would be able to easily knock them out next semester and graduate in May–I have such specific classes left that making my schedule would be a no brainer. Since I’m going to be studying in Buenos Aires, however, it’s not quite so cut and dry. First off, there is one class that I have to take at New Paltz, so I will either have to take it online (if it’s available online) while I’m in Argentina or take one dumb class next semester (which would be totally worth studying abroad of course). Next, there’s all the unknowns: when I get there I will take a placement test to determine my level of Spanish. If I don’t test high enough, I am relegated to a Latin American Studies program, which doesn’t offer the most exciting classes. I also won’t know which classes are available until I arrive, and  since I need such specific classes in order to graduate this could mean that I would have to take more than the one class next semester if I’m unable to take an equivalent class there.

Basically, my mind is going crazy and doubting whether I should go since the path of least resistance is to stay and just finish up. There is also a program in Spain that I could apply for where I would be a camp counsellor and I wouldn’t have to pay for housing, food, or insurance and they pay a weekly stipend. I don’t know how easy it is to get accepted to the program, though, and I’ve already laid down a pretty hefty chunk of non-refundable cash on my Argentina program, so I really think that I’m letting my worries get the best of me.

I met with my advisor today and she made me feel a lot better and promised to work with me as much as possible so that I can still graduate ASAP. I also signed up for a tutor, which will hopefully help fill in the gaps in my knowledge so that I can test well and choose from any of the classes offered at the school.

I’m also trying to keep this in mind:

I know that the scarier something is, the more I will grow from it.

Now it’s your turn:
What’s the last scary thing you did that turned out to be awesome?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

