What I’ve Been Up To

I’m back! I can’t believe it’s been over 6 months since I last wrote. When I first began my break, I sometimes wanted to write but I didn’t feel like I had anything interesting to say. Eventually the urge to write disappeared and until recently was gone. Lately, though, I’ve been missing blogging as a motivation tool for living well, and I feel excited about starting up again!

A lot has happened in the past 6 months, so I’ll run through a quick overview:

A picturesque day in Iowa

After my semester ended, I headed to Iowa for two weeks. It was so nice to stay there for so long; usually I’m only there for a week and it flies by way too fast. I had tons of QT with my family and friends and my batteries were recharged from finals.

In July an opportunity arose at the summer camp where Dan was working, and I jumped on it because it was full time and decent pay. I spent most of the rest of the summer as the Arts & Crafts Director at a summer camp. It was way outside my comfort zone, an I will write more in depth about it another time. Once camp was over, Dan and I headed up to Saratoga for a couple of weeks to work some more where I spent the last two weeks of summer working at the coffee shop. Overall, the summer was over way too fast and was very exhausting!

This semester has been really, really challenging. I am technically a Junior, but I’m trying my hardest to graduate in May because I’m so ready to be done. My classes are really difficult this semester, and in I’m taking an extra one to finish by May. 4 of my classes are in Spanish and 3 of those are so reading heavy I don’t even know how I’m doing it (especially because my reading speed in Spanish is so slow), and my fifth class also requires a ton of reading, but thankfully is in English so that helps! (I know 5 classes is the norm, but three of my classes are 4 credits so under normal circumstances I would only be taking 4 of the 5 I’m now to hit that 15 credit sweet spot).

The most exciting development of this semester is actually what I’m doing in preparation for next semester, which is actually really exciting news that I think I’ll save for a whole post of its own!

On the health and fitness front, I don’t have any good news to report. I was exercising regularly (mostly the elliptical) until I got the camp job, at which point I was too exhausted to work out. You know how I do things–even one camp ended I was just out of the habit of exercising and haven’t been able to get back into it. My eating hasn’t been too great either, I’ve been eating a lot of sweets due to stress/exhaustion. I’m really hoping that blogging will help me get my crap together as it has proved to be very motivational in the past! Unfortunately, I’m in the midst of a little health scare which is prohibiting me from getting into exercise right this second. That is yet another teaser which deserves it’s own post.

And that’s a very brief summary of the last 6 months here! Moving forward, I think that I’m going to format the blog differently than I used to. I definitely want to continue to do posts about eating and exercising, but once a week I will be doing a post about school since 90% of my life is tied up in school right now.

Stay tuned for my next few posts addressing the teasers I planted here! Next up I will write about my health scare.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

