Salmon Burrito Bowl

Dan is on Spring Break this week, so he headed up north to visit his family yesterday. I am stuck in New Paltz since I have class and work, which meant I was left to my own devices for dinner last night. On the menu was salmon and veggies, but I wanted something more exciting. Our freezer is stuffed full of salmon and I’ve started making it for dinner twice a week, so I’ve been trying out different ways to prepare it each time. Last night I made an extremely delicious salmon burrito bowl:

Salmon Burrito Bowl
serves 1

4 oz salmon filet (mine was boneless/skinless)
1/2 of a lime
taco seasoning (I made something similar to this by just eyeballing the measurements)
1 bell pepper, sliced into strips (I used half a red pepper and half a green pepper)
1/2 cup red onion, sliced into strips
1 Tbsp oil
prepared rice (I used 1/2 cup brown rice)
1 clove garlic, minced or pressed
guacamole & tortilla chips

Preheat oven to 450˚. Cut your 1/2 of a lime in half again, so you have two quarters of a lime. Squeeze the juice from one of the wedges on the salmon filet, then top with about 1 Tbsp taco seasoning, rubbing the seasoning in the coat. Bake until fish reaches desired temperature, or until opaque and easily flakes (I bake mine until I see 131˚ on a meat thermometer, and it took around 20 minutes from frozen).

While the salmon is baking, heat oil over medium heat. Add in the peppers and onion and cook covered, stirring frequently, until they are tender and beginning to blacken.

Place your prepared rice in a bowl, add the garlic and squeeze the juice from the remaining lime wedge. My rice was cold so I waited until I pulled the fish out of the oven and heated it for 1.5 minutes in the microwave.

Combine all of your ingredients in a bowl, top with guacamole if desired, and proceed to devour the meal with tortilla chips.

I will definitely have to make this again when Dan is home to enjoy it with me!

I spent my alone time lounging around the couch watching season 6 of Weeds (took them long enough to put it on Netflix!) and reading 1Q84, and being glued to Ancestry.Com. I can’t stop! My grandparents all died before I was born, with the exception of my mom’s grandma, who lived until I was 14 or so. Consequently, I don’t really have a strong sense of what my family was like, or even what my nationality(s) is(are). So far I’m Swedish, German, Irish, and English. I have only been able to find the ancestors on my mom’s side so far, but I was able to trace them back pretty far. I would love to trace every branch back to Europe on both sides.
I liked having an evening to myself, because though I love spending time with Dan, I am in introvert and time alone (that is not spent doing school work) really recharges my batteries. I do not enjoy sleeping alone however, and am very happy that Dan will be back tonight!

I’d better get on breakfast so that it digests in time for me to work out before work. I’ve used my elliptical every day since Tuesday, and I really like this Tuesday-Friday dedicated exercise schedule. I spend 30 minutes on the elliptical and I really push myself, and then I walk for around an hour each day (to and from work or class), so I’m really logging a lot of hours of exercise. My mood seems to increase with every additional minute of exercise, and while I can’t say that I’m completely stress free, these last two weeks of increased exercise have really helped how I feel overall.

Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

