My Triumphant Return To Exercise

Remember how I got into a really good exercise groove earlier this year, and then fell off the wagon after Mousegate 2012? I am really terrified of mice, and when I saw one scamper across the kitchen (which is attached as one big room to the living room in my apartment), I stopped spending any time at home, let alone doing, say, a workout DVD that would require me to be on the floor. It only took about 2 weeks for me to be sure that the mice were gone, but 2 weeks is more than enough time for me to fall off the exercise wagon, and once that happens, it feels impossible to start again. I had all these great intentions to start again last week when I was on spring break, but I let other things get in my way as per usual.

This week I decided that it was just time to start again. I told myself on Tuesday that I would exercise Tuesday-Friday, and that it would suck every one of those days, but that on Monday it wouldn’t suck anymore. That’s the usual pattern in my experience. On Tuesday I did level 2 of 30 Day Shred, and it did suck. I wanted to stop the ENTIRE TIME.
On Wednesday I decided to do 30 minutes on the elliptical, and the craziest thing happened. Not only was it not torturous at all, the 30 minutes flew by so fast. Sometimes I set out to do 30 minutes, but when 20 minutes hits, I feel like there’s no way I can go on. Very dramatic, I know. I also cranked up the resistance and my RPMs were higher than usual, so the calorie burn was higher than it normally is after 30 minutes. The calorie burn is obviously not accurate on my elliptical because it doesn’t allow you to enter your age/height/weight, let alone monitor your heart rate or anything like that, but I find that information to be useful to gauge my effort. Because of my monstrous effort, my legs (and core) were sore yesterday, but I managed another 30 minutes on the elliptical. Today I tackled 30 slower minutes and my legs didn’t feel so bad.

This week has been a great on in regards to healthy living for me. Sometimes I just feel like I’m really in the groove and doing the right thing comes naturally. I’ve kept good sleep hygiene all week, my eating has been totally on point, and I’m doing a good job of getting the right amounts of grains/vegetables/fruits/protein each day. We moved our “naughty meal” of the week to last night because when we got home, we were delighted to find out that my landlord (who lives upstairs) was having all the carpets in her house replaced. Turns out that’s really noisy. We needed to get out of the house, so we headed to the Gilded Otter for a burger and beer.
Their burgers are so good that I never bother ordering anything else. I had a Crimson Lager (I’m really digging red beers right now) and it was delicious. My main complaint about the Gilded Otter is that it seems like every time I go, they are out of my first choice beer. They have a rotating beer list, but it cannot be trusted. Last night was no exception; I wanted to try their blueberry beer but they didn’t have it. I think that they should either be more on top of their beer supply (they brew their own) or have a way to indicate which beers they have that day or something. If it only happened once in awhile I wouldn’t care, but I can only remember one time when they had the first beer I asked for. Waah!

I am, of course, very happy that it’s Friday. I had a hike in mind for tomorrow, but the weather looks crummy so I’m not sure what I’ll do. Sunday will be devoted to homework as always, as my professors this semester are just dishing it out as fast as they can.

Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

