Snow Day!

Wednesday was awesome because I got a surprise snow day!

I wasn’t expecting it, and just in the nick of time I got a text from my school alerting me that all classes from then on were cancelled! Wahoo! Dan also had a snow day, but was going a little crazy because he was having technical difficulties submitting an application online, so we took a walk in the snow to the library to pick up some movies as snow day supplies.

Wednesday was also awesome because before I found out I got the day off, I was so productive. Days like that make me feel so good! I did my school work, finally filled out my FAFSA for next year, I folded my laundry, put dinner together (a crock pot meal, more on that next week), and even managed to watch some TV online and read my book. Some days I am such a pathetic lump on the couch, unable to peel myself up, so days when I have so much motivation feel awesome. Plus, when I found out I didn’t have to go to class, I was able to relax for the rest of the day.
The best part of my morning? I finally booked a flight to Iowa to visit my family!!! That definitely deserves three exclamation points. I haven’t been to Iowa since last May, and even though I saw my mom & sister in October for my cousins wedding, it was only a short time, plus I didn’t see my dad or nephews, and I’m feeling really homesick. This time I’m staying for two weeks, which is awesome because time always FLIES when I’m visiting. Dan isn’t coming because he’ll be working then, plus it’s so damn expensive to fly (though I found two non-stop flights for $100 less than when I visited last year!) that we can’t really afford for both of us to fly out there.

Today I have two things I’m obsessed with to share:
On Wednesday, Dan wanted some soda. I’ve already given into a PMS fueled craving for Doritos, which can easily become a slippery slope, so instead of getting soda too (which I don’t really like, and tends to bother my tummy), I picked up some soda water. When I got home, I squeezed the juice of one orange (I’m eating several oranges a day over here. Somebody stop me!) into a glass and topped it off with soda water. It was really tasty, not too sweet, and the carbonation was cut down so I don’t have to worry about said tummy troubles that I experience when drinking soda.

The next thing happened when I discovered a bag of chocolate chips on my baking shelf. I was making some custard oats, and when I spotted the chocolate chips, I knew my day was going to get much better.
Peanut Butter Cup Custard Oats
serves 1

1 egg white
2/3 cups milk (I used almond milk)
1/3 cup old fashioned oats
pinch of brown sugar
1 Tbsp peanut butter
1 Tbsp chocolate chips

In a small saucepan, whisk together the egg white and milk. Mix in the oats and brown sugar (you don’t need much brown sugar because the chocolate chips add sweetness. The first time I made it it was too sweet!). Turn the heat on medium high, and stirring constantly, bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and continue to stir (so the egg white doesn’t scramble) until the oats are at your desired thickness (about 5 minutes). Remove from heat, and stir in the peanut butter and chocolate chips.

When I eat oatmeal, I usually use 1/2 cup of oats + 1 cup of milk, but the addition of the egg and peanut butter makes these really filling so I cut it down just a little bit, which made the perfect amount of food for my tummy. If you do increase the amount of oats to 1/2 cup, you can use the whole egg.

These oats are so good! Plus they pack 15 grams of protein, which is something I’m trying to get more of.

It’s almost the weekend! I have a pile of homework to get through tomorrow before I can relax, but doing homework in the comfort of my own home (or at a coffee shop) is so much more enjoyable than going to work or class!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

