NYC

Whew, February has been a crazy month! I have been out of town three out of four weekends. I am sad that all of our adventures are over, but I’m crossing my fingers as tightly as possible that I don’t have to work next weekend so that I can finally have a weekend to relax!

Dan’s and my friend Jim, who officiated our wedding, lives in Kansas right now for school and is about to move to Utah. He was in town for the weekend for a conference, so Dan and I made plans along with two of my other friends, Tara and Eve, to head down there to visit him. We were only in the city for a little over 24 hours, but I had a blast!

Eve works for a Marriott hotel, so we got a sweet deal on a very swanky hotel room next to the World Trade Center. We were on the 24th floor, so we had some nice views.

Including the new WTC buildings that are being built:
Priority #1 on the agenda after dropping our bags in our room was hauling ass to Sweet Revenge, a cupcake, beer, & wine bar. Never has a better decision been made in the history of humans than stopping here. The bar is tiny and was packed, and for a while we were banished to the very back corner, which was more of a place for the employees to hang their coats than a seat, but the claustrophobia was worth it when our server dropped this on front of me:
That, my friends, is the Sweet Revenge cupcake. Peanut butter cake, chocolate ganache filling, and peanut butter fudge frosting. It was the best cupcake I’ve ever tasted. I enjoyed my cupcake with the suggested beer pairing, Weihenstephaner Hefe Weiss. In the future I would skip the beer because while the cupcake was reasonably priced ($3.50 or $3.75), and amazing, the extra $16 for two beers (one for me and one for Dan) that were nothing special isn’t something I’d fork over again. I would also probably take my cupcake to go, because the service wasn’t great (our server was friendly, but we had to go get him to take our order, to get our check, and then we watched him walk out the front door before he letting us pay, so we had to find another server to help us before we could leave), so getting in and out would save some frustration.

After we enjoyed our cupcakes, we headed to Times Square, where Jim was staying.
 We grabbed a slice if pizza for a cheap dinner (since we had shelled out so much for cupcakes and beer!) and then headed over to where Jim and his fellow Kansians (is that what you call people from Kansas?) had already gotten a start, The Pony Bar. This was also a good find. They had tons of domestic beers, and all glasses were $5.
I enjoyed a Golden Ale (very tasty), a few sips of Occupation Ale (too bitter for my tastes), and some Cider (very tasty). The bar was noisy and crowded, but that’s to be expected, especially on Saturday night. I would definitely go there again!

Dan and I left the bar in search for a comedy show another friend of mine was in, but we failed miserably. The L train wasn’t running, and then we got on the wrong train because I was a)inebriated and b)dealing with a potty emergency so I didn’t pay attention when the train pulled up. When we realized we had gotten on the wrong train, we got off (now in Central Park) and I ran into the first hotel I saw and they were kind enough to let me use their bathroom. Should’ve gone at the bar, especially after all the pints I threw back! By the time we got back on track towards the venue, we realized we wouldn’t be able to make it on time, or even just a little late, so we sadly gave up and headed back to the hotel.

Yesterday we had breakfast at a restaurant near our hotel called George’s. It was standard diner fare. I had a western omelette which was pretty good. Dan had blueberry pancakes, which looked very tasty. I wouldn’t go out of my way to eat there again, but the food was good so I would keep it in mind if I was hungry for breakfast nearby.

After breakfast, Eve, who is from Poland, was heading to Greenpoint, which has a large Polish population, so Dan and I tagged along. I’d never been to Greenpoint before, and it was really cool to see all of the Polish shops and products in the grocery store (Eve grabbed a cart to do a supermarket sweep of all the things she can’t get Upstate!). The three of us had lunch with our friend Bob, who recently moved to the city, at Lomzynianka Restaurant. Dan and I shared the Polish Platter, which included pierogies, kielbasa, stuffed cabbage, bigos and potatoes, and an order of cheese blintzes. Everything was amazing. I’ve had pierogies and blintzes before, but the other foods were new to me. My favorite was stuffed cabbage! I didn’t think that I liked cabbage, so it’s good to know that I do. I would absolutely go out of my way to eat at Lomzynianka again!

And that was it. After lunch we headed home and collapsed on the couch. I only managed to get about 4 hours of sleep on Saturday night, so I slept very well last night! Hopefully life will calm down for awhile again so that we can rest!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

