Extreme Shed And Shred

At work on Friday, I found myself in the best mood. Considering I had been grumpy all week, it was a nice change! We had a quick trip to Saratoga planned for the weekend and I was very excited. I hadn’t seen some of my friends since Thanksgiving, and others since September! We had lunch with Dan’s parents and then I went to a little get together at my friend’s apartment. We gossiped, ate snacks, and drank wine. When we started getting sleepy, I headed downtown with my friend Tara (she was the only one with enough energy–we’re kind of like elderly people) to find Dan, and I ran into another friend who was in town for the weekend, which was exciting. Yesterday morning we grabbed breakfast, I stopped in the coffee shop where I used to work, and then we headed home. It was a short trip, but a ton of fun!

When I got home yesterday, I discovered that my copy of Extreme Shed and Shred had come on Saturday! It was a good thing, too, because I ate so many bad things over the weekend that I really needed a good workout to set the mood for my week.

I wasn’t sure how I would feel about the workout because the reviews were mixed. A lot of Jillian Michaels fans said that they didn’t like this one at all. I actually did like it, though I’m not sure if it’s as hard as No More Trouble Zones or Banish Fat Boost Metabolism. Don’t get me wrong, there were parts that were really hard–the first move after the warm up? F-ing burpees. I said “Are you kidding me?” out loud.
 (Via Pinterest)

The reason it seemed easier is that there were a lot of moves that allowed your heart rate to come way down, so it wasn’t super intense the whole time.
I only did level 1 for today because that’s all I had time for, but at the end I felt like I could have continued with level 2 (she recommends that you do them both together). I was tired and happy that it was over, and I’m sure that by the end of level 2 I would be dying, but the intensity is more on par with 30 Day Shred than her other longer workouts. One thing I really liked about this one is that it is almost entirely new moves (besides burpees and butt kicks), so it was challenging and interesting.
Another thing I liked is that it was circuits, but they weren’t strictly x minutes of cardio, x minutes of strength, and x minutes of ab work like her other workouts tend to be. That’s one thing I don’t like about 30 Day Shred, as it feels a little monotonous. The moves in each circuit were more varied and very short, so just as you felt like you were going to die, you moved on to something totally different, which kept my morale up.
Some of the martial arts moves seemed silly in the context of this workout, specifically the Capoeria moves. I’m sure they make sense when you’re practicing the sport, but in between butt kicks and speed bag, it was weird. I also didn’t like that Jillian only did each move once and then walked around talking. I like to see her do things a couple of times (especially the martial arts/kickboxing moves that require you to do a sequence of things) so that I know I’m doing it right, as I’m not the most coordinated person in the world. Plus, it’s a pet peeve of mine with exercise DVDs when the person who put the DVD out does hardly any exercise. I think they should lead by example!

Overall I enjoyed this workout. I was very sweaty by the end! This DVD will definitely be put into heavy rotation!

I’d better hop in the shower so I can make it to class on time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

