What I’ve Been Eating

In my last post, I talked about how I’ve been really on point with my eating, so I thought that today I would share what I’ve been eating this week. This is the third week that I’ve been having the same breakfast, lunches, and snacks all week long, and it really helps me stay on track and is surprisingly not boring.

For breakfasts, I’ve been eating plain shredded wheat with almond milk and cinnamon sprinkled on top. I used to eat frosted mini wheats all the time, but I have trained my pallet to not need the sugar. I started buying unfrosted shredded wheat and adding a little bit of sugar, and then eventually stopped. I did the same thing with natural peanut butter–at first I hated it, so when I stopped eating the sugary stuff I added a bit of honey to my natural peanut butter and eventually stopped all together, and now I love the taste of natural peanut butter. Anyway, the cinnamon adds a nice flavor to the cereal, and I also eat an orange on the side. I can’t get enough oranges right now!

For lunches I’ve been obsessed with this salad:

It has chopped romaine, halved grape tomatoes, sliced basil leaves (2 large leaves in each salad), sliced mushrooms, olive oil, cubed fresh mozzarella, and black pepper. It’s like caprese salad, except I can eat a giant bowl full. The basil adds so much flavor, it’s incredible.

I need a lot of snacks to get me through my classes because I get so hungry, and if I don’t come prepared, the vending machine really calls my name. Hi chips and skittles! Last week I was buying a soy latte each day before class, but that’s ridiculously expensive, so this week I’ve been bringing dark chocolate almond milk. It is so delicious! It’s very thick, creamy, and filling. It’s got a lot of sugar (22 grams/cup), so I debated the decision, especially since my goal is to not have desert during the week, but decided that I feel okay about having one cup three times a week.
I I’ve also been bringing a banana and an Oh Mega Carrot Cake Breakfast Cookie from Oh She Glows. I’ve been meaning to make these for a couple of weeks and finally got around to it! They aren’t very pretty, but they are so delicious! Perhaps next time I’ll flatten them 🙂
I halved the recipe and still didn’t have quite enough maple syrup, so I added some water to make it moist enough to stick together, and I don’t miss the extra sweetness at all. These came together pretty quickly and don’t require much time in the oven, so I will definitely make them again!

This week has been a little rough for some reason. Like I said in Monday’s post, I think it’s just hormones. Last night I was craving a naughty desert (namely this), but instead of getting something really bad I had a peanut butter & banana mug (just sliced banana and a spoonful of peanut butter in a mug, eaten with a spoon. Saw it over on Carrots ‘n’ Cake and it has become one of my staple snacks) with a few chocolate chips thrown in. Satisfied my sweet tooth without going crazy. Besides that, though, I’m really holding it together pretty well considering my mood.

Today is supposed to be 53˚! I am planning on leaving early for class so that I can take a nice long walk. This mild winter is dragging out, but I’m convinced that it’s going to get frigid and snowy ANY SECOND so I’m making sure to take advantage of the warmth every chance I get.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

