Back To Class

Today I head back to class. I feel pretty neutral about it. It’s hard to believe that break is over, but I don’t feel anxious like I usually do during the first week of class. I’ve noticed that since I’ve been exercising more lately, my anxiety has basically disappeared. Anxiety is something that I’ve struggled with for as long as I can remember, and I’m really surprised at how calm I’ve felt for the past couple of weeks. Even last winter when I was exercising up a storm I was still struggling with anxiety, so it’s both nice and strange that things that would normally have my stomach in knots aren’t having any effect on me.

Speaking of anxiety and college, I have this irrational anxiety every semester that I will run out of pages in my notebook (I like to get a 5 subject notebook so that I only have one thing to keep track of), and yesterday when I was shopping for school supplies, I found the most genius thing ever:
It’s a refillable notebook! Instead of spiral binding, this notebook has three binder rings that pop open so you can add more paper as needed. I should mention that I have never actually run out of paper in a notebook, but this has alleviated my irrational fear and is awesome because I don’t have to buy notebooks anymore, just paper to refill. I actually always end up with paper leftover in my old notebooks, so this will really cut down on waste and save me money in the long run. I am more excited about this than is warranted.

My last weekend of freedom was really nice! I had to close on Friday and then open at 5:30am on Saturday, but it wasn’t that bad, plus I got to bail early Saturday morning because it was snowing and we had no customers! Yay, snow day! Dan and I inflated our air mattress in the living room, put all the blankets and pillows we own on it, and watched movies. It was such a nice day. Yesterday morning, I made the most delicious breakfast:
French Toast with Blueberry Cream Cheese Filling
serves 2

4 thick slices of Italian bread
2 large eggs
Splash of milk
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup soft cream cheese
1 1/4 cups blueberries, divided
2-3 Tbsp powdered sugar
butter to coat pan

In a small bowl, mix the cream cheese and powdered sugar until it reaches your desired sweetness. Stir in 2 cup blueberries. Set aside. In a shallow dish, mix the eggs, vanilla, and milk. Dip both sides of the bread slices in the egg mixture and cook in a hot skillet (pre-heated on medium heat) coated with butter, flipping when browned (2-3 minutes). When cooked, top with blueberry cream cheese and reserved 1/4 cup blueberries, and dust with powdered sugar if desired.

This was so delicious, I practically licked my plate clean.

Well, I’m off to get ready for class!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

