Walking Is Working

Don’t forget to enter my tea giveaway if you haven’t already! Today is the last day–do it before 9p.m.! 


I am so glad that I decided to stop running and start walking for exercise instead. It was a decision that made me feel both relieved and anxious. Relieved because as much as I tried, I just never grew to like running. I really believed that eventually it would become enjoyable, and though I had some good runs, after nearly two years, overall I found it tedious and boring. I felt anxious because I wasn’t sure if walking would be enough exercise. Last year I was exercising like crazy, between running, elliptical, and workout DVDs, and I felt awesome. I was worried that walking (plus strength training twice a week) just wasn’t enough to get the same effects of running.
Turns out, the decision was a good one! The number one reason it was the right decision? I’m walking nearly every day, so overall I’m getting way more exercise than I have since I moved here. I walk to work, I’ll walk to and from class, and Dan and I go on tons of walks, even more than we used to. I’m spending hours a week exercising where before it was a struggle to get outside to run for 30 minutes even once a week. Now I really want to exercise–the other day it was lightly raining but I walked to work anyway because I wanted the exercise. I can really see a difference in my mood too. I was struggling with seasonal depression, and I saw it melting away after just a week of walking regularly. My mood is so much better now, as is my motivation to eat well which also makes me feel amazing.
I haven’t ruled running out entirely. I may pick it up again in the future, but for now I’m glad I’ve found something that is making me feel so awesome!
 Besides walking, one of my goals is to strength train twice a week. Last week I struggled through No More Trouble Zones and realized that it is very necessary for me to work on strength. I decided to use 30 Day Shred instead of NMTZ until I built back some of my strength. Yesterday I did level 1, and found that it was challenging but much easier than NMTZ. I won’t be doing it for 30 days straight, but I will be using it as my strength training exercise at least twice a week. I plan on popping it in later today.
Last night at work, I was surprisingly not tired or grumpy. I always get really tired at work, and by the end of my shift I’m practically sleeping on my prep station. I think it’s because I did 30DS before work. I’ll have to keep that in mind!

In food news, I think I’ve burnt out on oatmeal again already. Yesterday and today I’ve had this delicious breakfast:


Grape Nuts with flax seeds, chopped almonds, craisins, and almond milk and a grapefruit on the side. Very tasty and filling.

I have today off, and I’m not exactly sure what I’m going to do with it yet. This is my last day off alone (Dan and I have the Sunday off together) before classes start on Monday, so I think reading plus Netflix will be in order!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

