Broccoli Bites

When I’m bored or unmotivated, I often get sucked into StumbleUpon, and my favorite thing to stumble is food & cooking. A few weeks ago while stumbling around the internet, I found this recipe for broccoli bites and immediately bookmarked it. It is a perfect weeknight recipe for me. You can easily mix the ingredients when you have a spare moment and store it in the fridge for a few days, and then quickly form the patties and bake the bites when you’re ready to eat them. I’m guessing they also reheat well in the oven. They would go well next to nearly anything–I served mine with eggs because they are a quick and easy protein.
 Broccoli Bites
serves 4

2.5 cups steamed broccoli, chopped
3 large eggs
1.5 cups grated cheese (I used cheddar)
1 cup breadcrumbs

Preheat your oven to 375˚. Mix all your ingredients and form into patties. I did 8 large patties out of laziness. Place the patties on a lightly oiled baking sheet and bake for 25 minutes or until browned, flipping once halfway through.

Seriously, how much easier could it get? While my broccoli was steaming, I threw together the best batch of hummus that I’ve ever made, and wouldn’t you know I didn’t measure anything so I’ll never be able to make it this tasty again! At least we’ll have yummy lunches this week.

Here’s an approximation of the recipe:

Hummus

1 15oz can of chickpeas, drained (reserve the liquid)
1/4 cup tahini
Juice of 1/3 of a lemon
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 large clove of garlic

Everything goes into the food processor and gets processed until it gets to the right consistency. Add reserved liquid from chickpeas as necessary to make the hummus nice and smooth. I added around 1/4 cup of liquid.

I’m off to make a batch of Oh Mega Carrot Cake Breakfast Cookies that I spotted last week over at Oh She Glows. I have been trying to figure out how to eat lunch on the days that I work 12-7 (worst shift ever!) and have been failing miserably at it, often not eating enough throughout the day. These healthy cookies look like a great solution–they are portable so I can eat one on my walk to work. I’m thinking that this plus a piece of fruit and a handful of nuts will give me adequate energy and keep me from becoming famished at dinner time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

