The Best Veggie Burger Ever?

I may have stumbled upon the best veggie burger ever. Holy crap. You need to try the Loaded Quinoa Veggie Burgers from Can You Stay For Dinner. They are absolutely incredible. I made them for dinner last night with some hand cut baked sweet potato fries on the side:
For the fries, I just cut a sweet potato into fries, tossed them with a bit of olive oil and salt, and baked them at 400˚ for about 45 minutes. We forgot to pick up rolls, so we at the burgers on toasted Ezekiel bread, but the leftovers were even better on hard rolls tonight. These burgers are already on the menu for next week!
For desert last night, I made banana “milkshakes” with reeses peanut butter cups mixed in:
In the blender went:
1 large very ripe frozen banana (unpeeled and cut into chunks before freezing)
3/4 cup milk (I used almond milk in mine)
1-2 Tbsp peanut butter
Blend it all up and then throw a chopped up peanut butter cup on top. This shake is so thick and tastes just like ice cream. That was quite a delicious healthified burger shop meal!

In exercise news, one of my New Year’s resolutions was to strength train twice a week. So far I haven’t been doing it at all. Even though I know it’s really important, I just feel totally unmotivated. I didn’t have to work on Thursday, and it was really rainy and crummy outside, so I knew that I needed to exercise in order to stay sane and not get cabin fever, so I popped in No More Trouble Zones and got to work.

 Apparently I’ve never done the entire DVD, because a few circuits in, I was like WHAT! It was definitely really challenging, and I needed to take a few breathers. Last winter I built up quite a bit of strength from doing 30 Day Shred, and can tell that I’ve lost a lot of that. Having so much trouble really inspired me to really commit to doing more strength training. I want to be so strong! I think that instead of doing NMTZ right now, I will redo 30 Day Shred first to rebuild some strength.
Even though I haven’t been doing strength training, I have been meeting my walking goals. I am really glad that I decided to walk instead of run, because I am highly motivated to walk every day that the weather permits, so I’ve been getting a ton more exercise than when I felt obligated to run. Both last week and this week I walked six out of the seven days. I am feeling so much better now that I’m getting more exercise–the winter depression I’ve been struggling with since daylight savings time has lifted and I’m dealing with stress much better. 2012 is treating me well so far!

If you haven’t already, don’t forget to enter my tea giveaway!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Best Veggie Burger Ever?

  1. Thanks babe!! So happy you liked ’em 🙂

Leave a Reply

