Chili & Cornbread + A Giveaway!

**This giveaway is closed**

I teased you guys the other day by mentioning that I came home from work to an awesome package, and that I’m going to share the love. Today is the day that I spill the beans, but first let’s talk about yesterday!

Yesterday was so nice. I was well rested and it felt so nice to relax. I spent the day reading magazines and the book Because They Wanted To by Mary Gaitskill
I just started reading it, and I like it so far. I’ve read two other books by Gaitskill that I really enjoyed, so I was excited to pick this one up. I also took a long walk in the sunshine with Dan after lunch–today was a half day for him–and that was awesome. We walked on the rail trail and almost stepped on a snake! I was really surprised to see him out there; even though it’s been pretty warm out, it is December for crying out loud! Shouldn’t the cold blooded animals be hibernating or something?

While I did all of that fun stuff, our dinner cooked away in the crock pot:
 I make chili a lot, and I always make it a little differently. Here’s what was in the mix yesterday:

Vegetarian Chili 
1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
1 can light red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 can tomato paste
1 can whole tomatoes plus the juice
1 large green pepper, chopped
1 large onion, chopped
2 large carrots, grated
4 cloves of garlic, pressed
around 2 cups V8
2 Tbsp chili powder
1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp black pepper

I threw all these ingredients in the crock pot and cooked on low for around 5 hours. On the side, I made White Cheddar Yogurt Cornbread that I spotted a few months ago on Daily Garnish. I used sharp yellow cheddar, and while I loved the texture of the cornbread (especially the corn kernels in it!), I guess I prefer sweet cornbread. This version is savory because of the cheddar. It’s definitely a great recipe, Dan flipped out because he loved it so much. I’m thinking of making a half batch today without the cheese for myself and I think I’ll love it.

So, let’s get to the good stuff! A month ago I posted my woeful tale of my year long search for Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride, and how the Celestial Seasoning’s website tricked me into speeding over to a nearby grocery store only to be crushed. Last week I spotted an email from Janet at Celestial Seasonings offering to send me a free box of tea so that I could finally taste Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride. I was so excited! When I got home from work on Monday it was waiting for me:
Besides four (!) boxes of Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride, there were boxes of the other holiday flavors as well as a variety of other teas. I, of course, immediately ripped open a box of Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride and nervously brewed a cup. My expectations were so high, I was worried that I wouldn’t like it. How silly would that be? I’m happy to report that it is JUST AS DELICIOUS as I expected! It smells amazing, tastes amazing, and there is a hint of sweetness. I’ve had three cups so far, and it is especially yummy with a splash of original almond milk.
I contemplated hoarding all the teas for myself, but I thought that it would be nice to share the wealth, so I’m going to give away some of the tea! One lucky reader will receive three boxes:
A box of green tea, a box of herbal tea sampler, and of course I couldn’t do this giveaway without letting someone else taste the tea that started this all, so a box of Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride!
In order to enter, all you have to do is leave a comment telling me your favorite kind of tea. To earn a second chance to win, like my blog on Facebook (you can click on the link on the right) and then leave a second comment telling me that you did it! The contest will be open until 9p.m. on Thursday, January 19, and I will pick a winner via Random.org. The winner will be announced on Friday, January 20 and will have 14 days to claim their prize. Unfortunately, this giveaway is available for US residents only. Good luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Chili & Cornbread + A Giveaway!

  1. Maureen says:

    I love Mint. Peppermint herbal or Spearmint Herbal.

  2. Kim says:

    My favorite tea is Trader Joes Vanilla Cinnamon Black tea. It tastes like birthday cake… so good.

  3. Liz says:

    My favorite is zhenas gypsy blend coconut chai. Unfortunately it’s a bit pricy. I really like coconut mango oolong tea by stash as well.

    Lnordquist(at)live(dot)com

  4. Sandy says:

    my favorite tea is Tazo Chai, it’s just spicy enough!

  5. Karen says:

    I love to drink jasmine tea.

    sonflower277 at gmail dot com

  6. Danielle says:

    My favorite kind of tea is Celestial Seasoning’s Candy Cane Lane, which is only sold around Christmastime. This giveaway is perfect for me!

    dsauers7(at)hotmail.com

  7. JenniferB says:

    My favorite is celestial seasonings true blueberry- love it!

  8. jessica edwards says:

    green

  9. AmeliaB says:

    I adore tea, but I really like an iced tea from a tea shop in Dublin, Ohio you can buy it online and it is called Loco Mojito (non- alcoholic but oh so yummy) http://tehku.com/index.php/tea-list/rooibos/loco-mojito.html

  10. AmandaSue says:

    My favorite tea is Mint Tea!

  11. Donna L says:

    I like green tea.

  12. Donna L says:

    I like The Reluctant Runner Blog
    on FB. Donna H.

  13. Dana says:

    i love green and white tea

  14. Robin S says:

    I love mint and chamomile tea

  15. Robin S says:

    like you on fb as Robin Scott

  16. Vee says:

    My favorite kind of tea right now is Tulsi Sweet Rose by Organic India

    http://organicindiausa.com/_product_5837/Tulsi_Sweet_Rose_Tea

    sswpss at yahoodot com

  17. Maria says:

    Either peppermint or chamomile, depending on my mood.

  18. Carmen says:

    Chai is my favorite.

  19. Jule says:

    Peppermint, from our own garden.

  20. Marci says:

    I love herbal teas from Mountain Rose Herbs, including “the blues”

  21. Erica says:

    My favorite kind of tea is Harney and Son’s Cinnamon Spice (in the satchet, not the bag). It’s absolutely *divine*.

  22. Sheila K. says:

    I love the Celestial brand of teas, and my favorite Celestial tea is cinnamon apple spice!

    skkorman AT bellsouth DOT net

  23. Sheila K. says:

    I like you on Facebook (Sheila Korman)!

    skkorman AT bellsouth DOT net

  24. ElfRenee says:

    Apricot black tea!

  25. Cee says:

    My favorite is an English breakfast tea, or just a good, dark green tea. Thanks for this giveaway!

  26. Meg says:

    I love blueberry tea!

  27. katherine d. says:

    I love Stash Tea – pumpkin flavor!

    katherinedibello (at) gmail (dot) com

  28. amy b says:

    Ginger Tea is my favorite!

  29. amy b says:

    I liked your facebook page

  30. Cat says:

    I like green tea and earl grey!

  31. Cat says:

    I like you on FB!

  32. leslie says:

    I love green tea! Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride is pretty amazing too 🙂

  33. Kathy says:

    My favorite is Tazo Chai Tea…

  34. Terry Avila says:

    Love Lipton Ice tea!

  35. Terry Avila says:

    Liked on FB (Mimi Avila)

  36. Bonny says:

    Usually I’m pretty traditional and just love Chinese loose-leaf green tea. I live with three other heavy tea drinkers though, so it’s always fun to try new tea from their stashes!

  37. Khbride says:

    My fav is peppermint

  38. Khbride says:

    liked you on fb (KH Bride)

  39. Stacey says:

    I love oregon chai tea!

Leave a Reply

