Orange Cranberry Oats

I finally got around to creating a Facebook page for the blog! Click on the link on the right to become a fan!

I am loving having steel cut oatmeal in the fridge ready to be quickly heated up in the morning! Last week I loved every bowl of Cherry Almond Oats, and I was thinking of what kind I could make this week. I had oranges and cranberries in my fridge, so I threw together a pot of Orange Cranberry Oatmeal.

This time I did not make it in my slow cooker, I just made it on the stovetop. I also only had 1 cup of steel cut oats, so I mixed in 1 cup of old fashioned oats and I really like the combo. The old fashioned oats make the texture creamy, and the steel cut oats are still in there, being all chewy. If you use all steel cut oats, make sure you increase the water since steel cut oats require much more water than rolled.

Orange Cranberry Oats
Serves 6

1 cup steel cut oatmeal
1 cup old fashioned oatmeal
1/3 cup sugar (I will leave this out next time)
5 cups water (or milk)
Juice of 2 oranges
Zest of 1 orange
1.5 cups cranberries

Bring the water, orange juice, and lemon zest to a boil. Add the oatmeal and cranberries, lower the heat to a simmer, and cook, stirring occasionally, until all of the water is absorbed, around 30 minutes.
I served mine with a splash of almond milk. Next time I plan to leave the sugar out and just serve the oats with a little bit of honey to cut the tartness of the cranberries. The orange juice adds some sweetness so it’s not as tart as I expected it to be.

I am so excited that tonight is my last night of work before I have two days off. It’s my fifth day in a row, which wouldn’t be a big deal except that I worked Saturday and Sunday which really wore me out. I could barely keep my eyes open at work last night, and to add insult to injury we had to grocery shop. Thankfully, I was prepared to be tired, so yesterday morning I roasted some vegetables so that dinner would come together quickly  last night.
It a’int pretty, but it was tasty! In the mix is sweet potatoes, white potatoes, turnips, green pepper, red pepper, onion, garlic, and black pepper that I roasted in a 350˚ oven for about an hour, until the potatoes were soft. I just reheated it in a covered saucepan with a tiny bit of water so they didn’t dry out while I sauteed some mushrooms in a skillet and then added in eggs. When it was finished, I dumped it onto a plate as ungraciously as possible and inhaled it–I was starving! Carefully planning my meals and doing prep work beforehand has really helped me recommit to healthy eating. Had this meal not been 90% ready to go, there is no way I would have gotten this many vegetables in. I would have eaten cereal or, more likely since I was tired and grumpy, gotten some sort of unhealthy takeout.

When I got home from work last night, I had the most awesome package waiting for me, and one lucky reader will get to share it with me. Stop back on Thursday when I will announce a giveaway!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

