Up & Up

I had such a nice day off yesterday! I relaxed a lot, ate some delicious and healthy food, and took an hour long walk. I have noticed this week that my seasonal depression seems to have lifted and I feel really good again. That is making it much easier to make healthy food choices–when I’m down I struggle not to eat naughty food. I know that eating well will make me feel good, so when I’m in a good headspace eating well is not a struggle.

For lunch yesterday I had leftover Oat & Lentil Curry, and after I warmed it up I put some grapes on top. I know that sounds weird, but it was so good.
The combination of flavors and textures (cold and sweet + warm and spicy) was really good.

I started feeling a little grumpy in the afternoon so I headed out for an hour long walk. While walking, I was thinking about how I’ve always been really cynical and tend to be negative. I think that I’d be much happier overall if I was more positive (duh!). Sometimes you meet people who are always so friendly and bubbly, and I’ve always thought it would be nice to be like that. I’m not sure how to unwire 26 years of pessimism, but I’m going to start by writing down three things I’m thankful for each morning. This is small and easily doable, and it might help change my mindset at the beginning of the day. The three things I thought of this morning were:
-My relationship: Not to get all schmoopy, but Dan really is a great guy, and I know that a lot of people want to find a partner, so I’m very thankful that we found each other and its funny to think about how easily we could have never met.
-Our financial situation is turning around: And we are finally not stressing out about money. Dan is getting steady sub jobs and I have a part time job, so we finally found our footing here in New Paltz.
-That I can quit my job if absolutely necessary: Knowing this makes the job so much more bearable. Sure, I don’t like the job and I would like to stop working there (not surprisingly, someone tried to get me to work on my day off yesterday), but knowing that if for some reason it becomes unbearable I can quit is a huge weight off my shoulders.

When Dan got home from work, I threw together burrito bowls for dinner. I think I’m going to start having this meal more often because it’s quick (as long as I cook the rice and beans ahead of time), tasty, and filling.
 It’s just brown rice, black beans, red pepper flakes, and diced tomato, white onion, and avocado. We’re having leftovers for dinner tonight when I get home from work.

Well, I’m going to relax for awhile before work! I have to work all weekend for the first time in…I don’t even know how many years it’s been. I used to work Sundays at the coffee shop, but I always had Saturdays off to spend with Dan since we don’t see much of each other during the week. I hope this doesn’t become a regular thing!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

