Turkey And Rice Soup

This fall, Shop Rite had some program where if you spent $300 before Thanksgiving, you got a free turkey (or ham, turkey breast, or tofurkey). Since we do our grocery shopping there weekly (though not for long, as we’re transitioning to purchasing everything at locally owned shops), we easily earned the free turkey. I went with the full on turkey because I knew it was a gift that would keep giving!

I roasted the turkey for Christmas dinner and then we ate the leftovers on salads for a few days before I made a giant pot of soup. I was going to go with Turkey Noodle soup, but decided to use brown rice instead because it’s healthier and I had it on hand. I used basically the same method to making this soup as I did in my Chicken Noodle Soup recipe.
 Turkey And Rice Soup

For the broth:
1 Tbsp oil
1/2 onion, chopped
3 cloves of garlic (or more or less to taste)
1 whole roasted turkey
3 large carrots, chopped
3 stalks of celery, chopped
generous handful of parsley (less if using dried)

For the soup:
Reserved meat from the turkey
2 1/2 lbs carrots, sliced into coins
Remainder of the bunch of celery, sliced thinly
1/2 onion, chopped
2 cups brown rice (or a mixture of brown and wild rice)
Salt & Pepper to taste

Before you make your broth, you will want to get most of the meat off of the turkey and reserve it for later. To make the broth, start by heating a bit of olive oil on medium in the bottom of a gigantic stock pot. Add your onions and cook until they begin to brown, about 4 minutes. Add in the garlic, cook for an additional minute. Add the rest of the broth ingredients to the pot and cover them with cold water. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer, cover, and simmer for 1.5-2 hours, until the broth is golden in color. Allow broth to cool.
Once the stock is at a temperature which allows you to handle the turkey, strain the broth through a colander into another large stock pot (or your second biggest pan and your biggest mixing bowl if your kitchen is anything like mine). At this point you will probably be able to get even more meat off the bird, so go nuts and get it all off of there.
Discard the bones and vegetables that cooked in the broth. Add all of the soup ingredients to the broth, and once again bring to a boil and then reduce the heat and simmer for 45 minutes to an hour, until the rice is cooked thoroughly and the vegetables are soft. Prepare to eat this for the rest of  your life as turkeys are big and yield a lot of soup! We ate it for a couple of days and I now have 4 gallon sized ziplock bags full of it in my freezer.

In other news, my interview yesterday went well, but he has other interviews to do so I’m not sure if I’ll get it. The restaurant is really cool, serving local and homemade foods, so I think I would really like the job, but if I don’t get it I will just keep looking. The one thing that I didn’t like is that it sounds like if he likes me I will have to come in for a couple of shifts as a sort of audition to see if I will work out, which I get, but I am working full time at the other job right now and don’t really want to work seven days in a week. We’ll see what happens!

I’m off to enjoy a relaxing day off!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

