Cherry Almond Oats

I ate oatmeal for breakfast nearly every day for a year and burnt out, so I took a couple of months off of eating it. Now that the weather might actually be getting cold, I’m back in the mood for oatmeal breakfasts, which is good news because it’s so good for you and extremely filling.

I found the most awesome recipe last week for Cherry Almond Oats in the slow cooker at The Yummy Life via Stumble Upon and could not wait to make it for breakfasts this week. I adapted the recipe slightly for my tastes, and based on the fact that I couldn’t find dried cherries at either of the two grocery stores I checked (what the heck?), and it turned out absolutely delicious. You can see the original recipe by clicking above, here is my version:
 Cherry Almond Oats
Serves 6

2.5 cups frozen cherries
2 cups original almond milk
3 cups water
2 cups steel cut oats
1 tsp almond extract
2 Tbsp flax seeds
Chopped almonds and extra almond milk for garnish

Combine all the ingredients except for the chopped almonds in a crock pot (Monica at The Yummy Life suggests using non-stick cooking spray on the crock pot so the oats don’t stick, but I didn’t and didn’t have a problem. It might depend on your crock pot) and set it on low for 7-8 hours. Serve with chopped almonds and extra almond milk.

This was so good! I was worried that the frozen cherries would dissolve, but they didn’t, and they added a ton of sweetness to the oatmeal so sweetener was unnecessary. Make sure you use steel cut oats, as they remain chewy after being cooked overnight. I made enough for six servings so Dan and I have breakfast for three days–you can easily reheat the oats by microwaving them in a bowl with some milk.

This entry was posted in recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

