Am I Hungry Or Sick?

Oh boy. Do you ever have a weird moment where you can’t tell if you’re hungry or nauseous? Or is that just me? I almost never get nauseous–I’m 26 now, and the last time I threw up was a reaction to a medication when I was 19*, and the time before that I was 13, so I guess I’m just not used to feeling sick to my stomach.
I woke up this morning with no appetite for breakfast, which is unusual. I ate a bowl of cereal anyway because I don’t like to skip meals. I have to leave for work at 11:15 in the morning, so I usually eat a light lunch around 10:30 (yeah, it’s really weird) and then something else light on my break at work around 3pm. Today I couldn’t eat at 10:30 because I just wasn’t hungry. This is never a problem for me, so I don’t know what was going on. I packed a banana and some walnuts and picked up a Berry Veggie Naked juice on my way to work. I sipped on the juice throughout the afternoon and never felt very hungry. On my break I had part of a bagel but didn’t have an appetite for my banana and walnuts.
I got off work at 7 and came home to nuke a sweet potato and re-heat the lentil walnut loaf I made last night, but while the sweet potato was cooking I suddenly got simultaneously really hungry and really turned off by the idea of the dinner I was preparing. I had a bowl of cereal instead because it was quick and seemed palatable, and then I went back for seconds because I was famished.
A few minutes later, I got really tired and crabby so Dan and I got into bed (this was like 8:30, but Dan has to get up at 5:30 for work so he never complains about turning in early), but I woke up an hour later and can’t go back to sleep, and my stomach feels pretty wonky. I can’t tell if I’m sick and that caused my lack of appetite, or if my lack of appetite is a fluke and the lack of food caused my stomach to be so upset. If that’s the case: Dear body, I’m sorry little buddy!
Now I’m eating some crackers and drinking some mint tea, so hopefully that will settle my stomach no matter what is wrong with it. I’m crossing every appendage in the hope that I’m not sick because I have to work tomorrow and I have a delicious menu planned for this weekend!

*I realized as I was writing this post that the actual last time I threw up was when I was 24, but that was the result of a girls night and a friend who kept insisting that “In my house, you drink!” while refilling my wine glass. That was the one and only time I ever threw up from drinking, and I don’t count it towards my vomit record.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

