On Waiting To Start College Part III

So, I just remembered that I was writing this a few months ago and didn’t finish. Whoops! In case you missed it, here’s Part I and Part II

Going back to school was really nerve-wracking after such a long time away. Here’s some background on what it’s been like so far:
My first stop on the college train was a non-traditional college called SUNY Empire State. It was geared towards adults and had mainly online classes. I still wanted to work 4 days a week so that I could pay my bills, so that set up was practical for me. I had two online classes and one “study group,” which was a writing class that met every other week. I’m not going to sugar coat it: for me, ESC absolutely sucked. My assigned advisor was unbelievably awful and my professors were questionable. In one of my online classes, we had this really bad professor for about a month, then suddenly a new person became our professor without any explanation and told us that all the work we had done thus far didn’t count. It was just nuts. Also, going to school online is a ton of work. This semester is the first that I haven’t had any online classes, and it’s so nice.

I knew that ESC wasn’t for me, so I applied to the local community college, SUNY Adirondack. Immediately I knew that this was a good decision; my experience there was so much better. While there wasn’t a solid advising system (which has kind of screwed me up), my overall experience there was really good, with most of my professors being really great. I stuck with SUNY Adirondack for four semesters and finished up most of my general ed requirements, and then transferred to SUNY New Paltz.  As my first semester at NP wraps up, it’s too soon for me to form an opinion. I have two really bad professors this semester, so I’m feeling a little bit pessimistic, but I may have just had some bad luck.

So, as you can see, I’ve had several different college experiences. In my final installment of the series, I will write a list of the pros and cons of waiting. And I promise it won’t take me three months 🙂

Read the rest of the series: Part 4

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Waiting To Start College Part III

  1. misslazycook says:

    i’m new to your blog and i just went back and read part I and II, and i have to say i really admire that not only have you gone back to school, but that you’ve stuck with it through some less-than-positive experiences. way to go!

Leave a Reply

