Oat & Lentil Curry

There are several days of the week that I am stuck at school through lunch time, and I’ve been trying to make easy meals to bring with me. The requirements are that they take up little space (my bag is already jam packed most days), don’t need to be refrigerated or heated up, and that they are super yummy so I’m not tempted to buy an overpriced (disappointing) sandwich.
The best option so far has been some sort of rice, bean, and veggie combo. It’s easy to make a big pot of this combo and pack it up for the week so it’s easy to grab. It’s always filling with some fruit on the side. The only problem is that it’s sometimes lacking in the super yummy department. Dan liked last week’s lunch a lot: bulgar, black beans, spinach and carrots cooked in a garlicky broth, but it just didn’t do it for me. I ate a lot of pb & js instead.
Thankfully, this week’s combo is a definite keeper. It was really easy to throw together and is really flavorful. This is one that I will make over and over!

Oat & Lentil Curry
Serves 4-6

1 cup steel cut oats
1/2 cup lentils
1 head of cauliflower, chopped
3 large carrots, chopped into thin coins
Medium onion, chopped
4 cups chicken or veggie broth
Garlic to taste (I used a ton of refrigerated minced garlic, probably 5 cloves worth)
1 heaping Tbsp curry powder
Red pepper flakes to taste (I used about 1/2 tsp)
1 tsp black pepper
1/2 cup raisins (I didn’t add these this time, but I wish I had and I will next time!)

Throw everything into a pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer for 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally, until thickened and lentils are soft.

And that’s it! This is another recipe that is really adaptable. Almost any vegetable would taste good in this dish, and you can substitute brown rice (or any grain) for the oats.  I just happened to have oats on hand so I used them. I really like the texture of steel cut oats, they’re chewier than rice, so I would recommend trying it out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

