Lighter Quiche

For some reason, I used to think that quiche was healthy. I have no idea what gave me that idea, but I was so, so wrong. The first time I entered the ingredients into the calorie counter on My Fitness Pal, I was shocked. I mean, duh, a bunch of cheese plus buttery pie crust is a recipe for disaster.

Since that discovery, I’ve made sure to cut back on the amount of cheese that I use and up the veggies. Tonight I was too lazy to make the dinner I had planned, so I threw together an even lighter quiche with ingredients I had on hand, and it tasted really good.

Crust:
(Slightly adapted from this recipe)
1 cup flour (I ran out of whole wheat flour, but next time I will do half whole wheat, half all purpose)
1/2 tsp salt
1-2 tsp dried herbs (I used Italian blend)
1/4 cup olive or canola oil
1/4 cup cold water

Filling:
1 heaping cup mushrooms, chopped
1/2 large red bell pepper, chopped
1/2 large white or yellow onion
garlic to taste
1 tbsp oil
4 eggs
1/3 cup skim milk
Salt & pepper
4 thin slices of swiss cheese
2 tbsp parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 400˚
To make the crust, mix the flour, salt, and herbs with a fork. In a separate bowl, beat the oil and water to combine. Pour this into the flour mixture and stir to form a dough. Press the dough into a 9″ pie pan. Poke holes in the dough with a fork to prevent bubbling and bake for 10 minutes.
Meanwhile,  heat the oil and garlic in a skillet over medium heat, and add the mushroom, onion, and red pepper, stirring occasionally until softened. Lightly beat the eggs, milk, salt and pepper in a bowl. When the crust is finished baking, put the vegetables in the bottom of the crust, arrange the swiss cheese on top so that it forms one layer, and pour the egg mixture on top of that. Sprinkle the parmesan cheese on top, and bake for about 20 minutes, until the top starts to brown.

This recipe is highly adaptable. You can use any kind of vegetables and cheese you have on hand. I just happened to have slices of swiss cheese, but obviously you can use shredded instead. There was space in my pie dish for more vegetables if I had them, so next time I will definitely bulk it up that way. Spinach would have been lovely in there. It is much lower in calories than traditional quiche–coming in at just under 400 for 1/4 of the recipe, but still tastes really good!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lighter Quiche

  1. Neil Warren says:

    I’m having a tiny problem I can’t seem to be able to subscribe your feed, I’m using google reader by the way.

Leave a Reply

