W5D3 & W6D1

Yesterday I wrote a whole post about C25k Week 5 Day 3, and then lost it through my own stupidity. So frustrating!

When I last posted, I was all like, “Blah blah blah, I haven’t been running but I’m not worried, I’m going to start again this week!!” Well, that didn’t happen. And I really started to get worried this week, as I had really lost my motivation to run. It was absolutely beautiful yesterday, so as I walked to class I was having an argument with myself about whether or not to run. On the one hand, I was walking for 50 minutes (to class and back), which was a good amount of exercise. On the other hand, since my goal is to run, I really just need to run.
As soon as I got home from class, I begrudgingly changed into my running clothes, had a snack, drank some water, and got my butt out the door. I knew if I waited any amount of time it wouldn’t happen. Despite my failure of my last run and my nearly two week long absence from running, I decided to keep going with the plan and bang out Week 5 day 3. Here’s what it was:

Brisk 5 minute warm up then

  • Run 20 minutes with no walking breaks

I wasn’t particularly nervous about running for 20 minutes, as I’ve run that much and longer many times. Even though I hadn’t been on a run in so long, I went out with the expectation that I’d be able to do it, and I think that made a big difference. The run was actually good–my legs felt light and my breathing was fine. My hips were hurting because for some reason on Thursday my legs were killing me all day and even woke me up in the middle of the night. I’m not sure what was going on with that. I took some ibuprofen when I was woken up in the night, and my legs felt fine when I woke up, but I guess the run triggered some lingering hip pain.
I finished the run despite a stupid mistake I made–I turned around WAY too soon. I thought I was almost at the halfway mark so I decided to turn back, but then I kept running and running and the halfway bell didn’t sound. This resulted in my having to run up the bitch of a hill that I live on the top of (that I usually walk up on my cool down), but that wasn’t even the worst part. When I got to the top of the hill, I had almost 5 minutes left to run, so I had to run down the hill and one extra block and then turn around and run back to the bottom of the hill before I could do my cool down walk. So annoying!! I’m glad I didn’t give up, though!

I think the 20 minute run is strategically placed where it is to build confidence and speed. When I was researching the plan online, I found message boards and apparently Week 5 Day 3 is when many people drop out of the program, which is understandable because up until that point we’d only run 8 minute stretches at the most. When I got up this morning and headed out for week 6 day 1 (it was much easier to motivate myself to get out there today than yesterday, by the way. It’s always really hard to start back up after a hiatus!), which is much easier, I felt really confident:

Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then:

  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
  • Walk 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Jog 3/4 mile (or 8 minutes)
  • Walk 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)

My attitude was that since I had run 20 minutes straight, I could definitely pick up the pace with this run since I had a couple of walking breaks to look forward to. While my legs were a little tired today, the run was really good! I got farther than I ever have before, covering 3 miles total (previously I was only going around 2 miles). I definitely had to slow down during the last 5 minutes of running because I was feeling out of breath, but I felt strong throughout.

I know I’ve said this before, but this program is really awesome. I am really enjoying the runs, and I am seeing improvements every time I go out there. I wish I had used this (or any) program to start running in the first place.

Tomorrow I am not going to run because we are getting up early to hike Overlook Mountain in Woodstock. It looks like a relatively easy hike, as it’s only 5 miles round trip, but apparently it’s pretty steep so it will be good exercise. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for clear skies so we can see the excellent view of the Hudson Valley!

This entry was posted in C25K, progress. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

