First C25K Fail!

When last I wrote, I had an awesome Week 5 Day 1 run. On Saturday, I went out for my Week 5 Day 2 run that I had been looking forward to. Here’s what it was supposed to be:

  • Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then:
  • Jog 3/4 mile (or 8 minutes)
  • Walk 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
  • Jog 3/4 mile (or 8 minutes)

 

On Friday, Dan had a job interview in Albany, so I headed north with him and we went to spend time with friends in Saratoga. We went out for pizza and beer, and then I had a long island iced tea–which seemed like a hilarious idea at the time–and then didn’t drink any water Friday night or Saturday morning. So, after my warm up walk on Saturday, the instant I started to run, my throat felt totally parched. I was completely dehydrated. I had only had two drinks the night before, but I guess it was enough to wring all the moisture out of my body. It was also unseasonably warm (in the 70s) and I was wearing pants because all of my shorts fall down at this point, but it’s so close to winter that I don’t want to invest in new ones until next year.

So, as you can imagine, the run was miserable. I ran the first 8 minutes without dying, but got a horrible cramp on both sides at the start of the second 8 minutes. I made it just over 5.5 minutes before I just had to stop because nothing I was doing was helping. I tried breathing into the cramps, putting my hands over my head (nothing to see here, strangers, just a girl running with her arms up in the air!), just toughing it out, but I was dying. The minuted I slowed to a walk I felt really dizzy. As soon as I got home, I slammed three glasses of ice water, and no water has ever tasted more delicious.

Since I understand why the run sucked, I didn’t feel bad about it. I planned on continuing with Week 5 Day 3 rather than repeating Day 2, but I haven’t gotten back out there yet. Dan and I took a long walk on Saturday night and another one on Sunday night, so when I woke up for my planned run on Monday, my legs were dead and I decided to rest them, and this week has been midterms so I’ve been too focused on school and not focused enough on exercise. Hopefully I will be able to run tomorrow (the forecast is rain, but they’re almost always wrong so I’m holding out hope) and bang out my 20 minute run! So that’s where I am with running. I really need to start scheduling exercise in my week at the beginning of the week. It’s just too hard to let life get in the way. I’m keeping my eye out so that I can register for the New Paltz Turkey Trot as soon as it’s posted!Later this week I’ll be posting an awesome recipe, so keep your eye out for that!

 

This entry was posted in C25K. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

