C25K: Week 5 Day 1

I was really pumped to run a bit more and walk a bit less today, and it was awesome! Here’s what my run looked like today:

Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then:

  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
  • Walk 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
  • Walk 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
I really can’t say enough good things about the Couch To 5k program. I definitely started in a good place for my abilities–it’s challenging but doable. I think I could have run a bit faster today because I wasn’t totally winded at the end of my last run, but for having just got back into running, I’m glad that I seem to be able to pace myself more reasonably than I have in the past. I am really enjoying the runs and I look forward to heading out, which is something I never, ever felt before. I’m excited about getting to a point where there are no walking breaks!
Alright, it’s time for lunch and then I’ve got to write two papers. I’ve been feeling a little depressed for a few weeks (which I think I can attribute to settling in and getting used to a new city and school), and this is making it really difficult to stay on top of my work. Hopefully I can pull it together in time for midterms (which are next week) and then have a less stressful second half of the semester! I’ve really stepped up my exercise, so I’m hoping that goes a long way in lessening my stress and upping my happiness! 
This entry was posted in C25K, motivation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

