Couch To 5k Day 3 + Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

We had an unexpectedly gorgeous day today! The weather channel was insisting that it would be super rainy all weekend, but we had no rain at all. This was awesome for me because my plan for the day went out without a hitch!

I got up at 9 today in order to get back on track for classes tomorrow–twice over this mini break I’ve slept until 11! I don’t think I’ve ever done that before (seriously, I think the latest I’ve ever slept when I wasn’t sick was 10:30), but I’ve been getting very little sleep these past few weeks, so I really needed to catch up. I shared a banana with Dan and had half a piece of toast with peanut butter and a big cup of water, and then headed out for C25K Week 4 Day 3.

The run was the same as days 1 and 2, and today it was so easy. It was fun to have Dan out there with me to chat with! I’m really looking forward to starting week 5 next week, where I’ll have longer intervals the first two days and then on the third day I’ll run 20 minutes without stopping. I feel up to it! I know I say it every time, but I’m really loving this program. I am really enjoying running for the first time, and I feel like I’m making progress really quickly, definitely much more quickly than if I had just run what I thought as appropriate.

After the run, we came home, showered, and I made pancakes and eggs for breakfast even though it was almost 11. I have this thing about eating meals at certain times of the day, not in a certain order. 11 and after is strictly lunch territory in my mind, and I don’t like having breakfast after then. I like to eat breakfast for dinner, though, so it really doesn’t make sense. Dan prefers to eat the meals in order no matter what time of day it is.

Speaking of breakfast for dinner, I made the craziest pancakes for dinner on Thursday night: cinnamon roll pancakes. Holy crap. They were so amazing.


I didn’t get a picture of the pancakes with the cream cheese glaze on them because I was too excited to shovel them in my mouth, but trust me, it was beautiful. The original recipe can be found on recipegirl.com. I followed her recipe pretty closely, so I won’t copy it here, but here are a few pointers:
-You want the hole in your baggie that you’re pouring the cinnamon filling out of to be tiny. Less than 1/4″. Mine was too bit the first two times, and it made a huge mess. Only when I got the hole small enough did I experience cinnamon roll goodness.
-I used less than 1/2 of both the cinnamon filling and the cream cheese glaze, but all of the pancake mix for two of us (we each had 3 regular sized pancakes). I would reduce those two parts or make more pancake mix if you’re feeding a crowd.
-I cut the butter in the glaze by half (2Tbsp instead of 4) and I used 1/2 cup sugar instead of 3/4 cup, and it was plenty sweet. I would add the sugar in slowly and stop when it meets your tastes.
If nothing else, click on the link to see the pictures on her website of the pancakes. Amazing.

So anyway, today after breakfast (boring plain pancakes this time!) and some time relaxing, we headed out for a long walk on the rail trail. Initially we were thinking about finding a mountain to hike here, but we’re pretty skeptical about trail conditions because of all the rain we’ve been having, so we decided to stick to the rail trail. We walked just over 2.5 miles out and then headed back home. Today was an excellent day for exercise.

Tomorrow is going to be a rest day from exercise as it’s pretty jam packed with class, grocery shopping and plans to see Joyce Carol Oats speak at Bard College! She is one of my favorite authors who I’ve seen speak once in the past, and I’m so excited to see her again! I want to bring a book and have her sign it, but I think I might be too shy :).

This entry was posted in C25K, optimism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

