Couch To 5k Day 2

My plan to run yesterday was nearly thwarted by pure laziness, but thankfully I talked myself into getting out there. I am actually feeling really enthusiastic about running again, much to my surprise. I was seriously considering giving up on it completely, and I’m glad I didn’t because I’m suddenly really motivated to improve my running skillz.

It was a really nice day yesterday, around 70˚ with a mix of clouds and sun (but no rain!). I was able to follow the Week 4 Day 2 instructions exactly:

Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then:

  • Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
  • Walk 1/4 mile (or 2-1/2 minutes)
  • Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)

The run wasn’t awesome because I wasn’t feeling totally gung ho about running in general, but I was definitely glad I went out and did it.  The C25K plan is really great, though, and I strongly recommend it. I don’t know why I was so stubborn about using a training plan when I first started running. I feel kind of silly for not realizing until now that running until I was completely fatigued, taking a walking break, and then expecting to be able to run more was the wrong way to do it. I’m now running until I’m about 80% fatigued, so my walk has a chance of recharging my energy supplies. 

My goal is to exercise 5 days a week–the C25K plan is 3 days a week, and then two other days I’ll do a Jillian Michaels DVD for strength training. This will definitely help me come at winter with fists flying–try to bring me down Seasonal Depression! 

I’m keeping my eye out for information on the New Paltz Turkey Trot this year. I plan on signing up for that, and Dan and I are also seriously considering running First Night again this year in Saratoga. I will just have to be consistent with my running, unlike last year, so it doesn’t suck as much! 

This entry was posted in C25K. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

