Momentum

Last week was so rough. I was struggling with hormone-induced ennui, and it sucked. Thankfully, this week I’m back to normal, and my desire to get back into exercise has come back with a vengeance! I really slacked off on exercise over the summer, and though I’ve been going on long walks regularly since we moved back to New Paltz for good, I know that I really need to get back into more vigorous exercise to combat the imminent seasonal depression headed my way.
I didn’t get a run in on Friday as I had planned because I was all in a tizzy over the amount of homework I suddenly had to do. A run would have been the exact thing I needed to pull it together, but I didn’t have that much foresight, so I just succumbed to the crazy.
Tuesday was the first day that I could run, so I got the heck out there in the morning. It was’t too bad. My expectations were reasonable, so even though I have seriously, seriously lost a ton of running ability, I felt mentally good the entire time. I only went about two miles and had to take some walking breaks, but I was not crabby, so I call that a win.
I’m conflicted because I really don’t enjoy running, but I want to like it and be good at it. I’m surprised that I don’t like it by now–I started running two years ago. Obviously, running all year long would help tremendously, but in the Fall, Winter, and Spring I do run pretty consistently. In a last ditch effort to continue running and not give up because I STILL HATE IT, I’m planning on following the Couch to 5k program and skipping the first couple of weeks (even though I’m pretty bad at running, I’m more capable than, say, a couch potato). It seems to be a good program, and I think that it will be good for me to follow a training program. I’m hoping that by gradually phasing out walking breaks in a pattern, my body will acclimate to running better than in the past, when I follow no plan whatsoever.
After my run on Tuesday, I took a long walk that night, then I took a long walk on Wednesday and followed it up with 30 Day Shred, and today did about 30 minutes of Banish Fat Boost Metabolism. It feels really good to be diving back into an exercise routine! It was a bit hard to start up again after months away from it, but now I’m gaining momentum and motivation. It’s really only hard until you get used to exercising. Last winter it was hard not to exercise because it was such a part of my routine and really does good things for my mood!
I’m off to find a race to set my sights on, as signing up for one will be great motivation to run on a regular basis!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

