Taco Pizza

Friday nights in our house are reserved for naughty dinner. We try to eat healthfully all week, and it’s much easier to do if I know that I can have whatever my heart desires for dinner on Friday. While sitting in Art History class on Wednesday afternoon, I was preoccupied with daydreams of a favorite food of mine from Iowa–taco pizza.

I’m not sure if taco pizza is actually a midwest thing, but I’ve sure as hell never seen anyone eating it out here. It was on my mind because while waiting for Dan to fill up the the tank, I noticed an advertisement for Godfather’s Pizza on the side of the gas station.
I was like, “WHAAAAAAAAT?!” As I had no idea that Godfather’s existed outside of Iowa. It was THE place to go to lunch when I were an upperclassman in high school and had off campus lunch privileges because it was right across the street. I also got the impression that it was the most popular pizza in town, although the crust was a bit too thick for my liking.
Anyway, Godfather’s was infamous for it’s taco pizza, and it was here that I first worked up the nerve to try a slice of what sounded like something truly disgusting to me as a child. Turns out, it was delicious.
Another place to get a pizza in Iowa is Casey’s, which is a gas station. Why do they make pizzas? I really don’t know. I never liked their standard pizzas, but in my opinion, they had THE BEST taco pizza EVER.  They know it, too. Here’s what you’ll see on the homepage if you go to their website:
Oh, yeah. So all of this was swirling around in my head while my professor lectured about the Well of Moses, and I figured out how to construct the perfect taco pizza at home. I could hardly wait until naughty dinner night to do it!

First, preheat your oven to 450˚ and gather your ingredients:
-Pizza crust (I normally make my own, but since we can’t use our tap water right now due to flooding, I didn’t want to mess around with trying to get bottled water the right temperature for the yeast. This crust was pretty good!)
-Taco sauce
-Refried benas
-Black olives
-Taco cheese
-Shredded Lettuce
-Chopped Tomato
-What I believe makes this truly Midwestern: Nacho Doritos. Just trust me here.
-1 Tbsp Taco Seasoning (I make my own using 1Tbsp chili powder, and 1tsp each cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, oregano)
-4 oz ground meat of your liking, cooked and seasoned with the taco seasoning. I went with turkey.

Now that you’ve gathered, it’s time to assemble:
Spread the refried beans evenly on your crust. I used about 2/3 a can of beans. Add your taco sauce on top. You’ll only need around 1/2 the bottle. Next, sprinkle your meat on top.
 Next comes lettuce, tomato, cheese and crunched up Doritos. The Doritos are crucial for a super crunchy pizza. I don’t know who thought of this, but they were brilliant. A sprinkle of cheese, and olives if you want them (I didn’t), bake it for 12-15 minutes, and you’ve got yourself a delicious taco pizza.

Oh, hey little guy! It’s been years since I’ve actually had Casey’s Taco Pizza, but if memory serves, this was pretty dead on. Why, oh why does it have to be gone?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

