Poppy, Strawberry, & Turkey Sandwich

We picked up a few groceries to get us through the week before we leave for our trip on Thursday. I figured I’d just make small meals so that there weren’t any leftovers to deal with or waste while we were gone. One thing we got was some turkey, and that was what I planned on eating for dinner last night. The thought of a plain old turkey on wheat with spinach and tomato was too boring, though, so I dug around my fridge and came up with this:

Poppy, Strawberry, & Turkey Sandwich

Serves 1

2 slices of your favorite bread
1 Tbsp plain cream cheese
1 serving of turkey
1 large strawberry
1 tsp poppy seeds
Handfull spinach

Directions:
1. Spread cream cheese on one side of your bread. Sprinkle poppy seeds on top of cream cheese2. Thinly slice strawberries and add them to the sandwich in a single layer, then add the turkey and spinach on top. That’s it!
 It was really tasty! I’m desperate to use up a jar of poppy seeds that I got to make lemon poppy pancakes (the recipe was not good, I’m still in search of a delicious one!), and the subtle flavor and texture they added to the sandwich was great. The sandwich will still be good without them (as I imagine not everyone has poppy seeds laying around). I think this would also be really good with herb garlic cream cheese, as the savory and sweet combo would be much more pronounced!
I’m spending the day packing! Like I said, we are leaving on Thursday to visit my brother in Vienna! He has lived there for about 15 years, but this is the first time I’m visiting him. In fact, it’s the first time I’m leaving the country! I’ve never even been to Mexico or Canada for crying out loud! I’m really excited and also nervous to be somewhere I don’t speak the language, but I’ve been practicing some German on a travel CD and out of a phrasebook, so I feel like I know enough to not be an ass.

Tomorrow is going to be crazy as we run around doing last minute things for our trip, and I won’t be blogging while I’m gone, so this is auf wiedersehen until I return in two weeks!!

This entry was posted in recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

