Stress

I am horrible at stress management. Horrible! I can only deal with one thing at a time, and when more than that is thrown at me I freeze up. I generally put things that I need to do off because dealing with them seems overwhelming, even though I know that if I just deal with it it will be a lot easier and I could get rid of the knot of anxiety in my stomach. Getting all of my paperwork in order for school has been really overwhelming. The application was bad enough, but there has been all sorts of other things I’ve had to do.
 My doctor’s office failed to send in my physical paperwork in April when I had my appointment, so I had to call the doctor’s office again and have them re-fax them before July 15. The calls I’ve made have sent me to voicemail and not been returned, adding to my stress. This deadline had really been weighing on me, and I’ve been putting off going into the office because it made me feel anxious. I couldn’t wait any longer, though, as the deadline is Friday and I’m headed to Austria on Thursday, so I went in today. It was actually really easy, and the person I talked to was nice. They printed off my records, and I dropped them off at school, and now I’m done! Hooray!

The lesson I’m trying to learn here is that nothing is ever as bad as I think it will be, and for the sake of my mental health (and physical health, too–I’m a stress eater) I need to just tackle things as they come rather than being consumed with anxiety about them.

The good thing is that I’ve been dealing with the stress more healthfully than in the past. While I haven’t used my elliptical once since I moved into the apartment, I have been walking about 3 miles nearly every day. I am currently unemployed (hopefully I’ll be able to find a job when we get back from Austria!), Dan works in the evenings, and I don’t know anyone here, so I’ve got a lot of time on my hands. I unpacked the entire apartment within a week, so now it’s just daily household chores and that’s it. I skipped a walk today because it was so hot, and my calves were really sore. I’m not sure why–I’m guessing from the unexpected 2 mile hike (in flip flops!) we had to take on Saturday–we went to a local park which is on top of a mountain, and the main parking was full, so rather than being able to drive up, we had to hike it. We were totally unprepared for this.  I may have also gotten dehydrated on the walk we took in the heat on Sunday. I’ve been chugging water like crazy and stretching them out and they are starting to feel a bit better!

Tomorrow we are going to start our preparation for Austria–get some Euros, do a massive load of laundry, and get some bus tickets to take us down to New York for our flight. Eeeeek!

What is stressing you out right now? Do you deal with stressful things head on, or procrastinate like me? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

