One Year Part I

I can’t believe how fast this year sped by. Tomorrow is my first wedding anniversary!


I met Dan in 2005 when he was hired at Borders Books & Music, where I had been working for a few months. I had been pestering my boss to hire cute guys for me to date, and he inadvertently followed through (Thanks, Tom!).
When we first met, Dan was pretty shy and awkward, but I was in the most outgoing phase of my life. I wanted everyone to be my friend, and Dan was no exception. I decided to make him be my friend whether or not he wanted to. We chatted as we worked together at the register and info desk, and he mentioned that he wanted to find a roommate. Shortly thereafter, my roommate moved out, and I convinced Dan to move in! I was worried that he wouldn’t want to move in for some reason (um, maybe because I had the big awesome bedroom and he had the tiny sucky one?), because I seriously needed a roommate, and I found out years later that he was worried that I wouldn’t let him in because he seriously needed a room. It worked out, though, and he moved in. We became best friends almost immediately.

After half a year or so, our relationship was definitely…unique…and there was a definite period of sheer unhappiness as neither of us could figure out/were willing to admit what we wanted (um, to be together obviously. Hindsight is 20/20!). We nearly stopped living together, but somehow we pulled it together. In October of 2006, we came to our senses and made it official.

Holy crap, we're babies in this picture!

We stuck together through a move to Minneapolis…

Walker Museum Sculpture Garden

Minehaha Falls

and back to New York a year later.

In 2008, we took a trip to Burlington, VT for our 2nd anniversary, and Dan asked me to marry him. I, of course, said yes!

………………………………………………………………………………..

Stay tuned for part II tomorrow!

Note: Our engagement photos were taken by my good friend, Tara. If you are in the Saratoga Springs/Albany area and need some photos taken, email me at guessimarunner (at) gmail (dot) com and I will hook you up!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

