Debbie Downer

Do you ever have a week where it feels like bad things keep piling up each day? Last week was a rough one for me. I felt pretty crappy (I blame hormones), so things that may have not bothered me much really got me down. The crappy weather depressed me more and more each day, my stress levels were high…blech.
I thought that I had limped to the weekend and survived, but the bad times just kept rolling in. I got a terrible headache on Saturday and almost burned my apartment down. Oops. I was trying to whip up a quick lunch and was baking tortillas to crumble on top of some taco salad in lieu of chips. I was focused on how much my head hurt and I forgot they were in the oven. When I remembered to check them, they were very dark brown. I thought they were ruined, but not that it was a big deal, so I closed the oven door to grab an oven mit. When I opened it back up, they were on fire! Thankfully, my instincts were working quicker than my brain and I grabbed the flaming pan and threw the tortillas in the sink and doused them with water. I’m not sure what would have happened if I hadn’t caught the fire in time (maybe the fire would have just burnt out?), but I realized that maybe I should have ordered out for lunch! Yikes.

Yesterday wasn’t much better. Work was rough, and when I got home and checked my email, I found an extremely rude one from a professor who I had really liked before reading the email. I put my paper in the wrong spot last week when I couldn’t make it to class, and his email implied that I am an idiot. Lovely.

I was so angry after reading the email that I literally had to take a walk. Dan and I headed downtown and walked for about an hour, and I ranted about how pissed I was for most of the walk, which helped me feel a bit better. The situation is still weighing on me, though, because I now need to speak with the professor before class today because a) I don’t know if he got my paper, so the situation isn’t resolved, and b) the email was so unbelievably inappropriate that I can’t just sit in his classroom for the next three weeks without confronting him about it. I hate confrontation, so I feel really stressed out, and won’t feel better until it’s over.

I’m hoping that things will turn around this week. Other than feeling stressed out about my situation with my professor, my mood has perked up a little bit today. I have hopped back onto the fitness train, doing my regularly scheduled 30 minutes on the elliptical today and eating well at each meal (side note–I’ve had two pints of strawberries in the past few days and they were both delicious! Must. Procure. More.). I also was motivated to do things other than lay on the couch and mope.
I have also been inspired to do a push up challenge. Morgan over at Life After Bagels has been doing a challenge for a few weeks now, and it reminded me of one I’d seen online a few months ago called One Hundred Push Ups (I think they may be the same challenge). Apparently if you follow the plan, you will be able to do 100 push ups in 6 weeks. I don’t really expect to be able to do that because I’m so bad at push ups, but I’m curious to find out how strong I will get! It’s only 3 days a week and doesn’t take long each time, so it is really doable.
I started by testing myself to see which level I fell in, and I could only do 6 standard push ups. SIX!!! I’m so weak!! I usually do modified push ups from my knees when forced to by Jillian Michaels (reason number 9,354 I’m glad she’s only present via DVD), so this is a challenge indeed. I started day one today, and will be doing the sets Monday, Wednesday, and Friday for the next 6 weeks. We’ll see what happens!

Wish me luck with my professor :(. Here’s to having a better week!!

This entry was posted in one hundred pushups. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

