Banana “Ice Cream”

I’m not sure if I can adequately describe how much I adore ice cream. I, therefore, cannot adequately describe how sad I am that I can’t eat it. I’m lactose intolerant, people, and though I tried to ignore it for a few years, forgoing milk and yogurt and even my beloved ice cream really did make my tummy feel better. Sometimes I’ll get some coconut milk ice cream, but that tastes like coconut milk so it’s always a letdown.

Now, I’m not going to try to say that what I’m about to show you is a perfect substitute for ice cream, but it has kind of revolutionized my life.

Let me start by showing you exhibit A:

I am back on track with my clean diet, with only a few exceptions this week (such as the Roma’s sub I had for lunch because I was downtown! Worth it!), but there was still delicious birthday cake in the apartment yesterday. I had to do something to get me through watching Dan enjoy the delicious cake, so I decided to make myself a little “ice cream” treat.

Banana “Ice Cream”
1 banana, peeled, sliced*, and frozen
Splash of almond milk
Mix-ins of your choosing (I used about 1/2 tbsp peanut butter, 1 tsp honey, 5 roasted almonds, and a square of dark chocolate)

1. Take your almonds and chocolate (or any solid mix-ins) and process them in a food processor until chunky. Set aside


2. Put your banana in the food processor, and process until creamy. If it’s not working, add the splash of almond milk. Your banana will look like this:

3. Add your peanut butter and honey (or any soft mix-ins) and process until combined
4. Transfer to a bowl and mix in your almonds and chocolate.

LOOK AT IT! That’s it! It’s super easy, and it is so delicious. It tastes and feels like banana flavored ice cream. If your bananas are super ripe, you can definitely forgo the honey.

*It’s really important that you slice your banana into 1/2″ wide chunks, otherwise you might break your food processor.

This entry was posted in recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

