Eat Clean Challenge: Day 2

Yesterday was another successful day of my Eat Clean Challenge, but it wasn’t quite as easy. Our local Borders, where I worked for about a year and a half, closed yesterday, and a bunch of current and former employees met there to say goodbye. There was quite a spread of champagne, chips, cookies, cupcakes, etc., and it all looked delicious! Let me rewind a bit first, though.

Breakfast was the same as Monday, steel cut oats with peanut butter and honey, and a smoothie.
For lunch, I had some more soup, with a piece of ezekiel bread and hummus and a baked sweet potato. I used this recipe for the hummus, and it is okay. It seems like it is missing something, but I’m not sure what. I actually remembered that I wanted to have the sweet potato for lunch in time to bake it in the oven, and it was so delicious. So much better than cooking it in the microwave! I overestimated the amount of food I could eat, and half of that sweet potato is waiting in the fridge for me to eat for a snack.

Dan and I ate dinner at 3:30pm because we’re 100 years old. We were both hungry, and had to be at Borders at 5, so we decided to have an early dinner. I made burrito bowls:

Including brown rice with cilantro, lime, and garlic mixed in, black beans, avocado, and tomato and red onion that I chopped up in the food processor. It was really delicious!

After dinner, we headed over to Borders to share memories and mourn the loss of a place that has been so central t0 all of our lives. Dan and I met at Borders, and I made so many friends there. 2/3 of my bridesmaids were friends I met there, and we had a whole Borders table at our wedding reception! After I stopped working there, I still spent a lot of time in the store chatting with my friends. I could always stop in and see someone I knew. Seeing the store totally empty was hard, and it’s hard to believe that I can’t pop in to hang out anymore. Everyone brought something to share, and the spread looked absolutely delicious, but I refrained from both food and drink. When I turned down the offer of champagne, a move so out of character, my friend whispered loudly, “ARE YOU PREGNANT?” Haha! It was not easy to deny such deliciousness, but I managed. This is why this super strict clean eating is simply a short-lived cleanse, not a life-long eating plan!

When I got home, I had some popcorn popped in olive oil on the stove for a snack to ease my craving for something naughty, and then puréed half a frozen banana into banana soft serve! I wish I had taken a picture, I will next time I make it. It’s really delicious, it feels and tastes like banana ice cream.

Today is going to be another stressful one. I have a test in Anthropology that I am absolutely not prepared for. It’s over 6 chapters, of which I have read 0, and I missed one class so I didn’t catch the lecture about two of the chapters. I can bomb this test and still pull a decent grade in the class, but I still feel stressed about it! Thankfully, I went to the Metropolitan Museum of Natural History over the weekend and took a bunch of notes for extra credit, so that will help my grade.
I also have to finish this packet that my Spanish teacher gave us as homework on Monday. She laughed maniacally when handing it to us and told us if we start to cry we should email her and she’ll try to comfort us. It’s a review of all the Spanish we should know so far, and some of the questions are things I just can’t answer, like: “True of false, there are five irregular verbs in ____ verb tense.” These are just things I know intrinsically, and I can conjugate the verbs without skipping a beat, but to sit and list them all? Yikes. I didn’t have time to do much of it yesterday because I was writing a research paper for Anthropology, so I’m going to have to try to finish it today. Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Eat Clean Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

