April Showers

Wow, it was dreary out there today! And it looks like we’ve got a rough week ahead:

Yikes! I had such a weird day today, and I’m blaming it on the clouds. It took every ounce of strength I could muster to get ready for class, as all I wanted to do was lay on the couch under a blanket watching TV and sipping tea. I did manage to get myself together and out the door in time. During Spanish class, my teacher got mad at us for not speaking enough and made us tango as punishment. Then our discussion of A Day No Pigs Would Die in Children’s Lit dissolved into a lengthy discussion of pig rape. Don’t ask.

At least I got my scheduled workout in for today! In fact, having a weekly workout schedule really seems to be helping me get plenty of exercise in without making me crabby. Last week was the first week I did my new fitness plan, and although I didn’t follow it exactly, I got a lot of exercise. As a recap, here is my exercise schedule:

Monday: 30 minutes on the elliptical or a run
Tuesday: Strength training: Jillian Michaels’ No More Trouble Zones
Wednesday: 60 minutes on the elliptical
Thursday: No More Trouble Zones
Friday: 30 minutes on the elliptical or a run
Saturday: Dan and I often go on long walks on Saturdays, but if we don’t, I’m going to enjoy my day of rest
Sunday: No exercise because I’m always too tired after working at the coffee shop all day.

And here is what happened last week:
Monday: 30 minutes on the elliptical
Tuesday: No More Trouble Zones
Wednesday: Outdoor run (I couldn’t pass up the beautiful weather)
Thursday: Rest day–I was so sore from NMTZ and my run that I could barely move, let alone do more strength training!
Friday: Nada–last week was weird and I worked on Friday instead of Sunday
Saturday: 1.5 hour walk on the rail trail in New Paltz
Sunday: Hour on the elliptical

I’m aiming for 5 solid workouts each week, and I definitely accomplished that last week. I noticed a huge shift in my attitude each day about exercising. Rather than a chore, it was just part of my day. I should have figured this out sooner, I’m a planner. If I plan my meals all week, I have no trouble eating things that are good for me and make me feel great. If I don’t, I have a hard time passing up things that just make me feel crappy. If I make a schedule for my homework each day, I got loads done; if I don’t, I get nothing done. It just makes sense that the same would be true for working out. Well, better late than never I guess!

Now that I feel like I’m on track with exercise, I’ve got to tighten up my eating habits a bit more. Not that I’m doing terribly, I’ve just been indulging in sweets more than I’d care to. Sugar breeds sugar cravings, and when I limit myself to Friday desert day (which usually spills into Saturday because there’s usually leftovers), I don’t mind not having desert the other days of the week. It’s all about habit.

Well, it’s past my bedtime (just glanced at the clock and was shocked that it’s already 11! And yes, 11 is past my bedtime), so I’d better try to sleep. I’m about to start reading The Book Thief for my Children’s Lit class, which I’m excited about because it’s been on my list for awhile. Maybe I’ll crack that bad boy open for a bit to wind down.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

