I Could Get Used To This

I had the most wonderful weekend! Normally I work at the coffee shop on Sunday mornings, but this week I had to work on Friday instead because I had an open house to go to in New Paltz on Saturday and I wasn’t sure how late I would be out of town, so I had a real weekend like a normal human!

I planned an easy dinner for Friday night because I’m always tired after work, and it was so awesome. I’m going to make it again this week because it was so simple to put together and it tasted so good!

Pasta With Roasted Vegetables

2 servings pasta
1 pint grape tomatoes
1 tsp olive oil
Salt & Pepper
6 artichoke hearts
2 handfulls raw baby spinach
2 Tbsp shredded parmesan cheese

1. Preheat oven to 450˚. Bring a pot of water to a boil for the pasta.
2. While your pasta is cooking, rinse the tomatoes and toss them with the olive oil, salt, and pepper. Put them in a single layer on a baking sheet and cook them for about 5 minutes, until the skin of the tomatoes starts to split.
3. While the tomatoes are cooking, drain and rinse your artichoke hearts (if you’re using canned, like I did), and cut them into quarters. Once the tomato skins have begun to split, add the artichoke hearts to the pan and cook for 5-10 more minutes, until the artichokes and tomatoes begin to brown. You’ll have something like this:
4. When the pasta is cooked to your liking, it’s time to make some big decisions about your spinach. You can either toss it in the water right before you drain the pasta if you like your spinach cooked (it should not take long to wilt), or you can drain your pasta and then mix the spinach in if you want it to stay crispy. I went with crispy. So, put your pasta in a bowl, divide the cheese between the servings, mix in your spinach, and then divide the vegetables between the servings. In less than 30 minutes, you have this bowl of goodness:
Yum! We also each had a piece of Texas Five Cheese toast from the freezer to keep things classy ;).

Because the weather was so unbelievably nice on Saturday, and because a glance over the schedule made me realize that the open house was geared towards students who hadn’t decided which school to attend, I decided to skip it. Instead, we enjoyed a 1.5 hour walk on the rail trail, which was really nice. We then hit up Yanni’s, a Greek restaurant that we love. After that, we walked around some more, and then went to a cafe, where we had coffee and read for a bit before heading home.

Today we had some boring chores to do (grocery shopping and laundry, blech), but we also went out to lunch (to Panera) and saw a movie (Paul). I could definitely get used to this weekend thing, but I won’t because next Sunday it’s back to work for me! I’m hoping to do a work study next year instead of finding a part time job, and I’m hoping I can then have weekend off. Everyone has to have a dream!

This entry was posted in recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

