First Run Of The Year

Okay, technically I’ve run this year, but I gave up early, in January if memory serves, in favor of the elliptical. Today was my first run of Spring, and I’ve been looking forward to it all week because the forecast was 50˚ and sunny. It was only around 40˚ when I went out, but it felt amazing. In my long sleeved shirt and wind pants, I was slightly overdressed! I could have definitely rocked a t-shirt. Ahhh :).
When I woke up this morning, my lower body was really sore from No More Trouble Zones. I expected my upper half to be killing me because it was during the workout, but it’s actually not sore at all. You just never know what’s going to hurt the next day, do you? I was limping around the apartment all morning, feeling kind of nervous about running on these sore muscles, but I was absolutely not going to miss this opportunity for a run, as we’re under a winter weather watch for Friday (what?!) and I’m not sure when it’s going to warm up like this again. I was debating between doing my 2 mile route and 3.25 mile route, and I decided to go big or go home. I was expecting the run to be kind of rough, as I’m out of practice, so I reasoned that I was going to be kind to myself and allow as many walking breaks as necessary, and the extra mile in the sun would do me good.
As I set out, I was a bit nervous, not knowing what to expect. I fell into a too-fast pace initially, and struggled to slow myself down as usual. I ran about 1.25 miles–the first stretch of my run–and then took a walking break. Just before my walking break, I was almost run down by a car that was coming straight across an intersection–she apparently looked both ways but not straight ahead of her and gunned the gas directly towards me. Thankfully, I saw her and she saw me in time, but I get so frustrated with the incompetence of drivers when I’m running. Whether it’s nearly running me over when crossing an intersection/pulling out of a driveway or just driving on the shoulder (those lines are hard to stay in, apparently), every time I’m out there, I have a near accident.
Anyway, I finished my run in 38 minutes, taking several walking breaks. I feel like I ran to the best of my ability today, so I’m really happy with myself. I didn’t take walking breaks out of laziness, I waited until I really felt I needed them and then resumed running as soon as I could.
I felt really good for the first half of my run, it seemed to be loosening up my sore muscles. It was definitely hard, and I’ll need a bit of practice before I’m able to run a respectable distance without walking (actually, as long as I can run at least a mile I feel okay, because I’m still haunted by the presidential mile in school that I was never able to run in it’s entirety). Then on the second half of the run, my leg/ass muscles started to get really sore, and I sort of regretted choosing the longer route. When I finished up, I was extremely sore so I hobbled around my yard, swinging my arms like a madwoman to try and loosen up a bit. I must have looked awesome.
My toe was kind of hurting while I was running, but I didn’t think much of it until I kicked off my shoe and found my sock soaked with blood. After I washed my gruesome foot, I found the teeniest little cut on the side of one of my toes. I don’t understand how it produced that much blood. I had to laugh, because between my bloodied foot and ridiculous limp, I am in pretty bad shape after my run!
No matter how challenging and painful the run was, I feel awesome now. It felt so good to be outside in the fresh (warm!!) air and sunshine. I was trying to assess how I feel about running during my run, but I think that I need to give it some more time and practice before I decide if I’m going to continue. There are pros (fresh air, sunshine, pride) and cons (it’s really hard, it’s boring, I almost get run over every. single. time.) to running, and I still feel like I’m on the fence about whether I want to keep doing it or throw in the towel and continue my elliptical addiction. We’ll find out, I guess!

Strawberry Chocolate Chip Pancakes were postponed for dinner with my in-laws last night, so we’re having them tonight. I can’t wait!
Now I’m going to search YouTube for stretches to do for my sore muscles, then I have to write a paper about the most horrible young adult book ever, A Day No Pigs Would Die. Seriously, never read this. I bawled like a baby, and I feel really traumatized. Damn you, professor!!

This entry was posted in optimism, pacing, starting over. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

