Victory!!

Every time I go to the grocery store, I make sure to swing by the yogurt section. As I mentioned before, I am looking for a Silk Live! soy yogurt. I had it once and like it much better than O’Soy yogurt, but then have never been able to find it again. My search is driving Dan totally crazy–he thinks I’m insane for checking every time.

Well, IN YOUR FACE, DAN!

On Saturday we were making a quick stop, and I finally found what I’ve been looking for for the past few months! Hooray!! I’d better go back and get more before they go missing again.

Yesterday I completed my usual one hour on the elliptical that has become a Wednesday habit. I actually really look forward to it, which I can’t explain as I usually get mentally burnt out around 40 minutes. I think it might be because it’s not as sporadic as my usual workouts. I generally decide each day whether, how, and for how long I’ll work out, but Wednesday is always the same. Perhaps I should learn a lesson and schedule my workouts at the beginning of the week.
Anyway, each week I try to get a higher calorie burn at the end of the hour. I have no idea how close to accurate my elliptical is, as it doesn’t take into account my weight or heart rate, only my RPMs and resistance, but at least I can gauge my effort comparatively by calories burned per minute. This systems allows me to focus on my progress: two weeks ago I burned just over 700 calories, last week it was closer to 800, and yesterday I rocked out 900. I am up to resistance level 4 (not long ago level 2 was challenging, now it feels ridiculously easy) and can now consistently keep my RPMs in the high 50’s. Seeing how my fitness is increasing is really awesome.
Today I originally planned on doing an easier 30 minutes at resistance level 3, but then I made plans to go on a hot lunch date to T.G.I. Fridays. As I always do, I perused their menu online and then tried to investigate nutrition info. Much to my outrage, here’s what they have to say on their website about offering the info:

Where can I obtain nutritional information?

T.G.I. Friday’s Restaurants® understands that our guests have many different nutritional desires. The selected nutritional information we provide is listed on our menu in restaurants or at http://www.tgifridays.com/menus/Menus.aspx. We do not provide ingredient statements.

On the lunch menu, there is zero nutrition information. This is ridiculous. It’s not the biggest deal in the world, I’ll just try to use common sense when I look at the menu, but it irritates me that they won’t just provide me with the information I need in order to eat a reasonable amount of calories.
So, long story short, I thought that maybe I should spend an hour on the elliptical today in order to balance the lunch I will have, but at 20 minutes, my legs felt like Jell-O! I ended up only doing my planned 30 minutes. I also did two measly sets of 12 modified push-ups, as I know I need to re-integrate strength training back into my life. Maybe I’ll keep my eye out for a strength training DVD and finally pick up some heavier weights, since my guns are so huge that my 3lb weights feel like feathers :). I’ll be proud when I get said weights because only really, extremely strong people can lift 5lb weights!

Well, I should probably actually do some homework before my lunch date!

This entry was posted in accomplishment, elliptical, habit, progress, Strength Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

