Poisoned!

As I mentioned in my last post, I headed out for a girl’s night at a newish sushi restaurant last night. The restaurant was really cute, the food was delicious (I went with shrimp & veggie tempura), and we had a great time. I ran home telling Dan that we have to go there together really soon.

Fast forward to this morning, when I woke up before 6 feeling really nauseous. Other things transpired that made me realize that I had food poisoning, so here I am, all sad and sick on the couch. Meanwhile, it’s around 50˚ and sunny, and I was seriously pumped for my first outdoor run of the season! Sigh. It was all I could do to drag myself to Stewarts next door to get some saltines, bread, and ginger ale. I made myself some dry toast and attempted to make a soft boiled egg (something my dad used to make for me when I was sick), but failed and wound up with a slightly undercooked hard-boiled egg, so I just ate the white part. I’ll make some very exciting vegetable broth with saltines in a little while.
I’m hoping that with eating some bland foods and drinking tons of water, I feel better for dinner tonight, because it was going to be ruebens and sweet potato fries in celebration of St. Patrick’s Day. I love ruebens, but they’re so bad that I only have them a couple times a year. Well, if I don’t feel better today, surely I’ll feel well enough to have them for dinner tomorrow.

I just checked the weather, and while it’s supposed to rain tomorrow morning, the afternoon is going to be partly cloudy, and it’s going to get up to 57˚, so all hope for a wonderful run is not lost.

It will be a very long time before I can have Japanese food again, and I’m not convinced that I’ll ever be able to stomach Tempura (as the memory of eating it is making my stomach do flips today). I won’t mention the name of the restaurant for the world at large, because as far as I know, my friends didn’t get sick (and one friend had eaten there before) so I think it was just a fluke. Update: another one of my friends did get sick from last night, so I will say this: if you visit Osaka Sushi House in Wilton, steer clear of the shrimp.

Needless to say, this illness has derailed my plan for getting the remainder of my work done today. I popped “I Love Lucy” into the DVD player and hit “play all” earlier, then took a nap, and that’s been my day so far. I’ve brought all of my work near the couch, and now I’m going to attempt to finish it all up, which is probably actually doable because I got so much done on Tuesday.

What do you eat when you are sick?
I haven’t had a soft boiled egg since I was a little kid (mostly because I almost never feel nauseous–I’ve probably only been sick to my stomach five times in the last 15 years), and I’m not sure what made me think of it today. Although all I ended up having was a hard-boiled egg white, it was still comforting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

