Spring Break!

I am officially on spring break, which just means that instead of going to class, I’m doing homework all day to get ahead so the rest of my semester is much easier. Yesterday I annexed myself downtown (I had Dan drop me off at 7am on his way to work and pick me up when he got off at 3) with a huge pile of work, and got tons, and I mean TONS done. It was awesome. Today has been significantly less productive. I don’t know what is happening–the day is seriously getting away from me. I’ve only done a bit of work so far. Oh, well.

The great thing about being on spring break is that I am home every night this week, so I have time to whip up some awesome meals. Monday night was root vegetable stew with herbed dumplings, and last night I made a Lentil Walnut Loaf with Mock Garlic Mashed Potatoes. I feel like you meat and potato types will be skeptical, nay, offended by this meal, but it was so unbelievably delicious. I hate meatloaf, always have, but the lentil walnut loaf is to die for.

Sorry this picture is kind of horrific, for some reason this meal didn’t want to be photographed. You’ll just have to take my word that it was good and try it yourself!

Thankfully we have ample leftovers, as I am heading out for sushi tonight with some friends and leaving Dan to fend for himself.

I am feeling really optimistic about spring coming. Last week I spotted a robin hopping around–the main sign of spring I used to look for when I was a kid. Is this something my mom invented? Ever since childhood, the first robin of the season gets me all excited. Yesterday was gorgeous, but I didn’t have a chance to get outside for a run. Today is rainy, so I had my usual date with the elliptical (staying on for only 35 minutes, but bumping the resistance up to level 4 and keeping my RPMs around 55-60), but tomorrow the forecast says 54˚ and sunny!!!!!! I will definitely be heading outside to take advantage of that wonderful weather if it holds true for my first run of the season. Sorry, elliptical, I have a feeling we’ll be seeing much less of each other very soon!

I’m off to do some more homework and then get ready for my girl date!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

