Lazy “Pot Pie”

This is my healthier spin on pot pie. I was craving something comforting for dinner tonight because it’s so dreary and rainy out, but I didn’t have time to make the root veggie stew I was imagining because we have to go to German class soon, so I decided to whip up this “pot pie” instead:

Ingredients:

Around 5 cups of vegetables of your choice. Here, I have broccoli, potato, carrots, frozen peas, and red pepper
1 small can of reduced sodium cream of mushroom soup
1 tube of crescent rolls (I used reduced fat)

Instructions:
1. Chop all of your veggies into small, uniform pieces. Toss them all into a pot with a bit of water (an inch or two on the bottom) and cook over medium high heat for about 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally (and adding more water if necessary) until very soft.
2. Meanwhile, lay your crescent rolls out on a baking sheet. I just folded them over once so they would all fit on the baking sheet, but you can roll them up into the proper crescent shape if you wish. Bake according to package directions
3. Once your veggies are cooked, add in your can of soup. No need to drain any remaining water, as there won’t be much and it will just become creamy sauce. Mix it all up until the veggies are evenly coated.

And that’s it. Seriously easy–you’ll be eating about 30 minutes after you start, and relatively healthy–you get a big serving of veggies. This is really versatile–you could add in meat if you wanted to, and any veggies you had on hand. This is definitely not something I’d eat all the time–reduced sodium cream of mushroom soup is still high in sodium and who knows what else–but it really did the trick for a really quick meal.
We put our crescent rolls on top of the veggie mixture in our bowls and scooped it all out together. The first time I made this, I put my veggie/soup mixture in a dish and put raw crescent roll dough on top and baked it, but the veggies didn’t get very soft and the dough didn’t get very crispy, so now I cook it separately.
The best part is that there are leftovers, so I don’t even have to make something for lunch tomorrow!

Well, I’m off to German class!

This entry was posted in recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lazy “Pot Pie”

  1. Toni says:

    This is such a lovely recipe! I love pot pie but often find it REALLY heavy!! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

