Pull It Together!

I’ve been feeling a little melancholy all week, and it’s pissing me off! There are tons of reasons that I shouldn’t feel this way, so it’s annoying the heck out of me. But here’s what I think is the culprit: my acceptance to New Paltz!
Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not depressed about going. The problem is that all of my excitement is getting in the way of my healthy routines–ie, sleeping–and this sudden divergence from my regularly scheduled life is throwing me out of whack.
I’m starting to pull it together, though. Last night I was in bed at my regular time, and I got up at 7 today, so that’s back on track. I did my hour on the elliptical that I do every Wednesday (while watching Biggest Loser on Hulu!) even though I’m still sore from shoveling on Monday. I can feel my legs getting stronger as the weeks go by. I started out at no resistance, and then about two weeks ago, I bumped it up to level 2. Today I started on level 2, bumped it up to level 3, and then even to level 4 for a bit towards the end. Getting stronger is such a great feeling!
On a side note, I must have pulled a muscle shoveling on Monday, because I’m not sore in my arms or back, I’m sore in the back of my right leg and my ass! What?! The snow was extremely heavy, so I was trying to lift with my legs in order to avoid a back injury, but apparently I didn’t entirely avoid injury. I hope my time on the elliptical loosened my muscles up today and that I feel better tomorrow!
So, back to my dumb melancholia…one huge obstacle is that I’m having a hard time caring about my current school work. It doesn’t really matter any more! I already got into a good school, so if my grades slip a little this semester, it doesn’t matter. In the long run, I’d rather have a solid college transcript, so I’m trying to pull it together there, too. I try not to do school work on Monday and Wednesday because if I do, I always feel burnt out during class, so there’s no school work on my agenda for today, but tomorrow I will definitely get up early, make a schedule, and work like a good student.
After tonight, I’m on Spring Break! I’m actually in a really good position with my workload right now, so over Spring Break I’m going to work ahead to make the end of the semester easier.
Now I’m off to indulge what I really want to be doing right now–sorting through things in preparation for our move. I’m being cut-throat this time–those boxes that we just move from apartment to apartment? I’m getting rid of as much of that stuff as possible!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

