Accepted

Behold perhaps the most exciting piece of mail I’ve ever received:

Hooray!!!! I honestly didn’t expect to hear back from the schools I applied to so soon, and I did a pretty good job of pushing it out of my mind. New Paltz was my #1 choice, and the first school I heard back from (not counting a weird email from my safety school that said something like “as an accepted student…” I was like, is this how you’re telling me?). When Dan handed me the big envelope, I was trying not to freak out. I was fairly certain it was an acceptance packet, but I seriously wasn’t sure if I could handle a rejection. Thankfully, it was not. I am so excited. It hasn’t even completely sunk in yet!

I’m immediately in moving mode. I have already began sorting through my things to decide what to get rid of to make moving easier. I’m not excited about leaving this apartment; it’s so perfect for us. I’m sure we’ll find something awesome in New Paltz, though! Dan went to NP for grad school, so he lived there for two years and is so excited to go back. Life is very exciting right now. As soon as I finish up my semester, I am heading to Iowa to visit friends and family, then my last month of dumb work at the coffee shop, then moving to New Paltz, then visiting Austria!! Yowza!

As if things weren’t going awesomely enough, I had a snow day today! The best part was that by the time I would have left for class, the snow had stopped and the sun was shining. Awesome freebie day! After nearly dying from shoveling (we got over a foot, and it was really heavy), I utilized the day off to wrap up filing taxes and filling out financial aid paperwork.

Now I’m off to have dinner and a movie with Dan to enjoy our bonus night together.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Accepted

  1. Congratulations! I LOVE New Paltz! I got in there but decided on Albany instead for some reason. While there, you should go to Cabaloosa’s for 80’s night on Thursdays, and then to the Main St. Bistro for breakfast.
    A close family friend went to New Paltz and then lived there for several years after she graduated. I used to visit all the time. I also have a few friends who go there now. My brother got his 3rd masters degree there (yes, I said third- he’s a smarty pants!).
    I know how you feel about leaving your apartment. I’m leaving mine next weekend and I’m SO sad about it. But change is good sometimes, and you are going to LOVE it there. Promise.
    Oh, and YOU’RE GOING TO AUSTRIA? I’m Austrian, and I’ve always wanted to go. My grandfather was from there. I hope you have a blast and take many, many pictures to blog about!
    ❤ Sorry this comment is ten years long. 🙂

    • Lindsay says:

      Thanks for the NP tips!! 80’s night sounds amazing! I will definitely check it out. I am so excited to go to Austria, as I have (somehow) never been out of the country, not even to Canada! It’s going to be amazing. My brother has lived in Vienna for 14 years, so I’m excited for him to give me the grand tour!
      Good luck with your move!

Leave a Reply

