Back To Normal

I finally feel readjusted to real life after our wonderful trip to Boston last week. It was really hard to get back into the groove of going to class and doing homework.

Since I’ve been back, I’ve been craving salads like crazy. I didn’t go too crazy in Boston, but I definitely indulged, so my body was seriously in need of mucho vegetables. Also, I can’t get that salad I had at Wendy’s out of my head, so I recreated it (with my own twists) three times this week:

In it, we have:

1.5 cups spring mix
1/2 granny smith apple, chopped
grilled chicken, seasoned with garlic, parsley, and black pepper
pecans
craisins
a sprinkle of parmesan (to replace the blue cheese in the original salad because I hate blue cheese)

So simple, and so delicious. It’s really similar to the apple & pear salad I made this fall. I topped it off with some raspberry vinaigrette:

Uh-oh, we're almost out of raspberry vinaigrette!

I also made Eating Well’s Thai-Style Melon & Beef Salad for dinner on Wednesday night, which was okay, but I didn’t love it. Also, it was really time consuming. It took about 45 minutes to prep, and it wasn’t really worth the effort at the end of the day.

When we first got back, I had serious chocolate cravings. I don’t normally like chocolate that much (I know, I’m weird), so this was very strange. On Sunday night, I was too exhausted to go out in search of chocolate, so I raided the cabinets and found some Hershey’s unsweetened cocoa powder. Into the blender it went with almond milk, a banana, some frozen strawberries, and a bit of honey:

It really hit the spot. I forgot to put the cocoa powder away, so when I spotted it the next morning, another craving took over. For my afternoon snack, I made another smoothie with almond milk, cocoa powder, honey, banana, and a scoop of teddie’s unsalted peanut butter:

This one was so good, but because none of the fruit was frozen, it was not as cold as I would have liked. In the future, I think I’ll freeze the banana first for a more milk-shakey experience. Also, if you use regular peanut butter, you probably don’t need honey, as it has sugar in it.

In other news, Dan and I had our first German class last night. We are going to visit my brother in Austria in July, so we are taking the class to get pumped up/so that we have a bit of knowledge before we go. Dan actually took German for 6 years, but it’s been so long since he’s spoken it that he can’t remember much. I think he will come out of the class speaking pretty well, and I will come out of the class…well, I’ll probably be able to say a couple of things.
When I got to the class, I was surprised to see my Spanish professor sitting there! A very strange mixing of worlds. The German teacher seems really nice. She grabbed the wrong bag, so she was a bit scattered last night, but still good. We learned how to say some phrases, focusing on pronunciation, and then we learned some body parts and colors, plus how to say “big,” “little,” “long,” and “short,” so I can say things like, “the hair is brown” and “the hand is big.” Holla!
It’s been a very long time since I’ve started a language from scratch (my first Spanish class was in 8th grade!), and I forgot how hard it is. My brain kept going to Spanish. The pronunciation is really difficult–all of those hard sounds–but I was actually doing well (ahem, better than Dan!) because she hardly corrected my pronunciation at all.
After the class ended, my Spanish Professor told me about a possible German class at ACC this summer, which I would consider taking. Even though everyone speaks English, it would be fun to have some handle on the language and to try it out in restaurants and such.

Well, as I’m not one to do things half-assed, I’m off to study my new German vocabulary words! Auf Wiedersehen!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

