Boston: Part II

In case you missed it, here’s part one of my recent trip to Boston.

Saturday morning we woke up to a very sunshiny day. Thankfully I brought a second pair of shoes, because the pair I wore on Friday were still soaking wet when I woke up Saturday (in fact, they’re still wet today! Wah!). We had breakfast at the hotel (I’m on waffle detox right now) and headed into Boston.

We walked from the train station back to Quincy Market, visiting the Holocaust Memorial on the way. We were ready for lunch when we got there, and through a misunderstanding, we found ourselves at the Hard Rock Cafe. I thought Dan wanted to go, so I suggested it, and he thought I wanted to go because I suggested it. Only when we were sitting down and I asked, “What is the appeal of this restaurant?” did the truth come out. I had some sort of chicken, bacon, and avocado sandwich, which was mediocre at best. It was especially silly because Quincy Market is absolutely packed with food.

After lunch, we picked up the Freedom Trail, which is a path that winds around the city, passing by various historical landmarks. It’s marked with a red line, so it’s really easy to follow. We followed it until we were near Boston Common, and then we walked around that area a bit. We then decided to follow the Freedom Trail back up to the USS Constitution–aka Old Iron Sides–which is the world’s oldest war ship. My favorite part of the visit was following the Freedom Trail from bottom to top, because it wound through all different areas of Boston. The fact that the path is marked is nice, because you don’t have to worry about keeping an eye on street signs or doing any navigating.

We finally arrived at the USS Constitution, which you can tour for free. We got on board, but once we were on I decided I didn’t want to go to the lower deck because there were tons of people and I was feeling a bit claustrophobic. We just toured the upper deck and then got the heck out of there. At this point, we had been walking for hours, and I was really tired. Thankfully, we still had our trolley tickets from Friday, which were good for two days, and the USS Constitution was a stop on the tour, so we waited for the trolley to come by and pick us up. We got off near Quincy Market, popped in for another giant cookie to share later, and then decided we were ready to head back to the hotel and walked back toward the train station. Next to North Station is Equal Exchange Café, where we stopped for Dan to get a coffee. I wasn’t in the mood for anything, but the cafe looked pretty cool.

We got to the train station at a good time, because our train was leaving in about 30 minutes and the next train wasn’t leaving for 3 hours after that (something to keep in mind if you’re going the commuter train route on the weekend!). All the walking we did had me seriously exhausted, and I was so ready to get back to the hotel. Our original plan was to drive home Saturday Night, but on Friday we decided to stay an extra night and I was so glad we did. If I’d had to ride in the car for four hours after our long day, I would have been super grumpy.

Dan wasn’t hungry for dinner, but I was starving when we got back to the hotel, so we popped over to the Wendy’s because I was craving a salad and baked potato. And here came the most surprising part of the trip: I had the Apple Pecan Chicken Salad and it was delicious. Delicious! I had to pick off the blue cheese (yuck), but I couldn’t believe how tasty it was. I went with a half salad, sour cream and chive baked potato, and a cup of chili (which I couldn’t finish), and it really hit the spot. A few hours later, we split our giant chocolate cookie, then watched “Date Night” on HBO and went to sleep.

Sunday morning we savored our last free hotel breakfast (waffles & eggs!), and then drove home. I really liked Boston and will definitely visit again. I was surprised by how small the city is–I expected it to be more like New York. It’s farther from us than New York (especially because we usually drive to Poughkeepsie, stay the night, and then take a train into the city), so I think we will still go there more often, but Boston has definitely won a spot on our overnight road trip list.

Now we’re transitioning back into work mode. I was really not in the mood to go to class on Monday, and yesterday doing homework all day felt like torture. Vacation is so nice!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

