Beets!

Wow, today has been crazy. I’ve been doing homework for hours in preparation of our upcoming belated Valentine’s Day trip to Boston on Thursday. Thursday and Friday are big homework days for me, so I have to get ahead now so I don’t fall behind on my mini-vacay. On top of that, our landlords are coming up to do an inspection tomorrow before we renew our lease (why they are doing this, I’m not sure. Why not just check it when we move out?), so every nook and cranny has to be cleaned. This would be more welcomed if I wasn’t so swamped with work (Spring cleaning is so nice). Thankfully, schools are on February break this week, so Dan is home and doing most of the cleaning, but now that I’ve done all of my work that absolutely had to get done, I feel obliged to help out and, ahem, perfect some of the cleaning that has been done.

First, though, I need to take a little break, so I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to talk about my current food obsession: beets! This might seem less weird if you remember that, as I mentioned in this post, I frequently get on food kicks. I have only had beets once in my life prior to this current kick, so the novelty of them is certainly adding to their appeal. They’re just so good. I bought them impulsively and then made them for lunch the other day, sautéing them in plain water for about 15 minutes until soft, and I couldn’t believe how delicious they are:

Later that day in my Spanish class, my teacher asked me what the most exciting moment in my day was, I wanted to say “when I had beets for lunch,” but I didn’t know the word for beet (upon investigation: remolacha) so I did not.

They’re on my mind again today because we’re having them for dinner tonight on the side of my recreation of a sandwich from one of my favorite cafés, Rock Hill Bakehouse. It’s cinnamon raisin bread with turkey, sharp cheddar, granny smith apples, and curry mayo. We went there for lunch on Saturday and walked out with a free loaf of their cinnamon raisin bread (someone had left a coupon and our waitress offered it to us) so I knew I had to recreate this sandwich. It’s the light at the end of my rough-day tunnel.

In other news, I’m still not bored of my elliptical. I’ve been using it almost every day and I really love the convenience. I’ve seriously got to incorporate different exercises into my routine soon, but I just can’t seem to tear myself away from the elliptical. I’ve bumped the resistance up to level 2 and didn’t die, so my legs are definitely getting stronger.

Alright, back to work for me. I doubt I’ll have time to visit my poor blog until we return from Boston, so I’ll be back next week!

This entry was posted in elliptical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

