Elliptical: A Love Story

As I mentioned the other day, I am the proud owner of an elliptical machine. I was sort of anxious about the purchase, because although I found a really inexpensive one, I get anxious about most purchases over $50. I’m always worried I won’t use whatever I’m buying and it will be a huge waste. Thankfully, I have used the elliptical 5 of the 6 days I’ve had it, and I really like it a lot. I’m sure I’ll grow sort of bored of it eventually and reincorporate running (especially when it warms up!) and workout DVDs, but for now, all I want to do is run on my elliptical!
I went with the Gold’s Gym Stridetrainer 380. It had tons of reviews, and 90-something percent of the reviews were 5 stars, so I felt confident about buying it even though it was one of the least expensive ones out there. It seems really good! It took us a few hours to put it together, but it wasn’t difficult. I tried it out on Friday, and have used it every day since except for Sunday, increasing my time each day. Yesterday I was on that guy for 45 minutes! I’m taking today off, because I actually had to stop and stretch during my workout several times yesterday due to sore legs from being on it so much.
I watch a TV show while I use it, keeping my RPMs between 55 & 60 while the show is on, then I speed up as fast as I can (which rarely exceeds 70 RPMs) during commercials to keep things interesting.

In other news, I have officially lost 20 lbs since I started running again in September. As I wrote before, I don’t focus on weight loss because it’s too easy to get discouraged and give up if the scale doesn’t move. If I focus on how good I feel when I’m eating well and exercising, it’s motivation to keep doing it whether or not I lose weight that week.
It’s pretty awesome, because I never feel deprived, I eat indulgent things if I really have a craving for them. Overall, I feel so much better now that I’m eating 90% nutritious foods, exercising a lot (which has prevented the winter depression I usually get), and getting plenty of sleep.
I am now at the weight that I was at when we lived in Minneapolis, which is the other time in my life that I felt the most healthy. I was a vegetarian, eating a lot of good foods (although, if memory serves, we ate more frozen pizza than we should have), and we didn’t have a car so I logged many weekly walking miles. I assume that I will keep losing weight, because I’m eating better than I was in Minneapolis, and doing more intense exercise, but I don’t have a goal weight in mind. I just want my body to find it’s healthy weight when I’m treating it the way I should.

Finally, I just have to mention my sad yogurt tale. I can’t have regular yogurt because I’m lactose-intolerant, and while I try not to get too much soy in my diet, I love yogurt because it’s a great snack or quick meal component. I tried Stoneyfield Farm’s O’Soy yogurt, and I really don’t like it. It’s too soy-y.

Then I tried Silk Live! soy yogurt, and I really liked it. It tasted so much better to me, more like regular yogurt (which I miss dearly). But the next time I went to the store, they didn’t have it! And every time I have gone to any store since, I run over to the yogurt section, to no avail. Dan thinks it’s funny that I won’t give up, but if they had it and then suddenly didn’t, maybe someday they suddenly will again!
Is there any other non-dairy yogurt out there that doesn’t taste bad? Maybe I’ll try some coconut yogurt. Sigh.

This entry was posted in elliptical, weight loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

