Too Cold To Run!

I headed out for a run today despite the fact that it is 19˚ and feels like 7˚. I reasoned that  I would just do my old 1.5 mile route, which would be better than nothing. I wore plenty of layers, and when I stepped out the door it didn’t even feel that cold to me. I started running and decided to do my 2 mile loop instead, but about 2 minutes into the run, I realized it was really, really cold. I immediately turned back and got on my 1.5 mile route. After about a mile, my lungs were burning so I had to walk. I alternated walking and running the rest of the way home, finishing up the last .25 mile with a solid jog. My lungs hurt more than they have in a very long time. I can’t wait for spring!

Tomorrow will probably be just as cold, so I am just going to do Jillian Michael’s Banish Fat Boost Metabolism when I wake up in the morning. I am thinking about getting a Zumba DVD set, since it seems to be all the rage these days. A latin dance based workout? Yes, please! I’m also fantasizing about getting a elliptical or stationary bike, but it feels like we’ve been spending money like crazy (I just bought plane tickets to visit my family in Iowa in May, and passports for our trip to Austria in July!) so I’m thinking that maybe we should cool it for a bit.

Tomorrow night, Dan and I are going to have an indoor BBQ to temporarily forget about winter. We’re going to grill up turkey burgers on the indoor grill, I’m going to make deviled eggs (which Dan has been lusting after for as long as I can remember), and we’re going to have various other BBQ themed goodies including gin & tonics, which are my favorite summer drink. I can’t wait!

I’m off to get ready for my dinner date with my friend Tara! I’m so excited–I feel like I’ve fallen off the face of the earth socially since my semester started.

This entry was posted in winter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

